The Commercial Bar Association (COMBAR)

222-225 Strand
The Outer Temple
London WC2R 1ND
Tel: +44 (0)20 7353 3502
Fax: +44 (0)20 7353 3597


Number of Members: Over 900
Membership is: Voluntary

Membership Inquiries Contact:
Veronica Kendall, Administrator
The Commercial Bar Association (COMBAR), 222-225 Strand,
The Outer Temple, London WC2R 1ND
Phone: +44 (0)20 7353 3502
Fax: +44 (0)20 7353 3597

Bar Profile:
COMBAR was founded over ten years ago to represent and promote the interests of commercial barristers serving the specialist needs of international commerce, including international commercial litigation and arbitration. Its membership comprises leading commercial chambers and individual practitioners at the Commercial Bar whose expertise extends across the fields of banking, mergers and acquisitions, insurance, reinsurance, financial services, shipping and international trade, commodity transactions, professional negligence, competition law, insolvency, European Community matters and private and public international law. COMBAR represents its members on the Bar Council, liaises with other specialist Bar associations on matters of common interest, comments on proposed legislation affecting the commercial field, contributes to the debate concerning the reform of the English civil justice system and offers a continuing programme of lectures and seminars and links with international Bar associations. An annual directory is published in January. COMBAR actively encourages close working links with lawyers practising in other jurisdictions, particularly in Europe, North America, the Commonwealth and the Far East.

Publications Available to Non Members
The annual COMBAR Directory of Members is issued at the end of January each year. Copies are available from Veronica Kendall, Administrator. The directory is also available on the website at:

Current Officers & Leadership

Barbara Dohmann QC

Michael Brindle QC

Jeffrey Gruder QC

William Blair QC
Nicholas Hamblen QC
Richard Jacobs QC
Robin Knowles QC
Nicholas Lavender
George Leggatt QC
Michael Nolan
John Powell QC
Michael Swainston