Connecticut Bar Association

30 Bank Street
New Britain, CT 06050-0350
Telephone: (860) 223-4400
Fax: (860) 223-4488


Established: 1875
Membership is: Voluntary
Membership in Other Bar Associations: New England Bar Association

Bar Profile:
The Connecticut Bar Association was established in 1875 and is a voluntary bar with between 65-70% of the attorneys in private practice in Connecticut as members. The Association has a comprehensive Continuing Legal Education program and conducts over 100 programs a year. Audio tapes of each seminar are available.

Over 6,500 members belong to one or more of the thirty-five substantive sections. 900 members serve on forty-six committees. In addition, the Young Lawyers Section has seven local units and twenty-six committees. Most of the sections and many of the committees meet monthly. Membership on committees often provides the opportunity for public service.

Annual Meetings:
June 2007

Current Officers & Leadership

Norman K. Janes
Statewide Legal Services of CT Inc.
425 Main St., 4th Floor, #2
Middletown, CT 06457-3371
Phone: (860) 344-8096, Fax: (860) 344-1918

William H. Prout, Jr.
Wiggin and Dana LLP
265 Church St.
PO Box 1832
New Haven, CT 06508-1832
Phone: (203) 498-4320
Fax: (203) 782-2889

Vice President
Livia D. Barndollar
Marvin, Ferro & Barndollar LLC
220 Elm St., #100
New Canaan, CT 06840
Phone: (203) 966-9655
Fax: (203) 966-7006

Gerald T. Giaimo
Bershstein Volpe & McKeon PC
105 Court St., #303
New Haven, CT 06511-6963
Phone: (203) 777-5800 X108
Fax: (203) 777-5806

Preston C. Tisdale
Office of the Chief Public Defender
30 Trinity St., 4th Flr.
Hartford, CT 06106-1663
Phone: (860) 509-6486
Fax: (860) 509-6498

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
Elizabeth A. Acee
Tyler Cooper & Alcorn LLP
205 Church St.
P.O. Box 1936
New Haven, CT 06509-1910
Phone: (203) 784-8540
Fax: (203) 865-7865

Past President
Louis R. Pepe
Pepe & Hazard, LLP
225 Asylum St.
Hartford, CT 06103-4302
Phone: (860) 241-2636, Fax: (860) 522-2796

Executive Director
Tim Hazen

Associate Executive Director
Janis Jerman

Director of Internal Operations
Donald A. Neel

Director of External Affairs
Hilary M. Stevens