Alaska Bar Association

550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1900
Anchorage, AK 99501
P.O. Box 100279
Anchorage, AK 99510-0279
Telephone: (907) 272-7469
Fax: (907) 272-2932
Web: http://www.alaskabar.org
Email: alaskabar@alaskabar.org

Overview

Established: 1896
Total Number of Members: 3,865 (2,406 in state)
Out of State Members: 525
Inactive: 825
Retired: 108

Bar Profile:
The Alaska Bar Association is an instrumentality of the State of Alaska created by Alaska statutes 08.08.010 et Seq. Under the authority of the Alaska Bar Rules adopted by the Alaska Supreme Court, the Bar Association is responsible to the court for the administration of the bar admission and discipline process. The Bar also provides continuing legal education, a lawyer referral service and other membership services.

The Alaska Bar Association is governed by a 12-member Board of Governors consisting of nine attorneys elected by the membership and three public members appointed by the Governor. Each member serves a three-year term.

Annual Meetings:

April 30 â?? May 2, 2008
Anchorage, AK
Alaska Bar Association 2008 Annual Convention, CLEs, and Business Meeting

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Matthew W. Claman
301 W. Northern Lights Blvd., Ste. 301
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907-264-3311
Fax: 907-276-3311
E-Mail: clamanm@lanepowell.com
Term expires: May 2008

President-Elect
Mitch Seaver
307 Bawden Street
Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone: 907-225-9401
Fax: 907-225-5513
E-Mail: seaver@kpunet.net
Term expires: May 2009

Vice President
Bill Granger
MAC K3212-051
301 W. Northern Lights Blvd., 5th Flr.
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907-265-2114
Fax: 907-265-2068
E-Mail: william.a.granger@wellsfargo.com
Term expires: March 2009

Secretary
Krista Stearns
1031 W. 4th Ave., Ste. 200
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-5042
Fax: 907-258-4978
E-Mail: krista.stearns@alaska.gov
Term expires: May 2009

BAR CONTACTS

Executive Director
Deborah O'Regan
Phone: (907) 272-7469
Email: oregan@alaskabar.org

Continuing Legal Education Director
Barbara Armstrong
Phone: (907) 272-7469
Email: armstrongb@alaskabar.org

Bar Counsel
Stephen J. Van Goor
Phone: (907) 272-7469
Email: vangoors@alaskabar.org

Sections

Administrative Law
Kathy L. Atkinson
2943 Captain Cook Estates Circle
Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone: 907-278-1057
Email: kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov

Admiralty Law
Steven J. Shamburek, Esq.
Law Office of Steven J.Shamburek
425 G Street, Suite 630
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-522-5339
Fax: 907-522-5393
Email: shamburek@gci.net

Mark C. Manning
431 W. Seventh Avenue, Suite 204
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-278-9794
Fax: 907-278-1169
Email: manning@alaska.net

Alaska Native Law
J. Michael Robbins
Ahtna, Inc.
406 W. Fireweed Lane, Suite 201
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907-868-8204
Fax: 907-868-8265
Email: mrobbins@ahtna.net

Alternate Dispute Resolution
Glenn E. Cravez
880 N Street, Suite 203
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-276-3370
Fax: 907-274-8201
Email: cravez.law.mediation@gci.net

Bankruptcy Law
Michelle L. Boutin
Jermain Dunnagan and Owens
3000 A Street, Suite 300
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907-563-8844
Email: mboutin@jdolaw.com

Gary A. Spraker
Christianson & Spraker
911 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 302
Anchorage, AK, 99501
Phone: 907-258-6016
Fax: 907-258-2026
Email: gary@cslawyers.com

Business Law
Leonard R. Anderson
Large & Associates
745 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 230
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-258-1651
Fax: 907-258-1653
Email: landerson@largelegal.com

Corporate Counsel
Marcia R. Davis
Department of Revenue
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1820
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-7868
Email: marcia.davis@alaska.gov

Carol A. Johnson
Chugach Electric Association, Inc.
P.O. Box 196300
Anchorage AK 99519 6300
Phone: 907-762-4790
Fax: 907-762-4688
Email: carol_johnson@chugachelectric.com

Elder Law
Ilona M. Bessenyey
Bessenyey & Van Tuyn LLC
310 K Street, Suite 200
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-278-2000
Fax: 907-278-2004
Email: i.bessenyey@att.net

Una Sonia Gandbhir
733 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 401
Anchorage, AK 99501 2106
Phone: 907-258-7333
Fax: 907-278-6488
Email: philuna@alaska.net

Employment Law
Thomas M. Daniel
Perkins Coie
1029 W. 3rd Ave, Ste 300
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-279-8561
Email: danit@perkinscole.com

William B. Schendel
Schendel Law Offices
250 Cushman St., Suite 500
Fairbanks AK 99701
Phone: 907-451-6500
Fax: 907-451-6510
Email: will@schendellaw.com

Robert H. Schmidt
Groh Eggers
3201 C Street, Suite 400
Anchorage AK 99503
Phone: 907-562-6474
Fax: 907-562-6044
Email: schmidtr@groheggers.com

Environmental/Natural Resources
Lawrence V. Albert, Co-Chair
PO Box 200934
Anchorage, AK 99520
Phone: 907-243-2172
Fax: 907-243-5476
Email: albertl@alaska.net

Lawrence L. Hartig, Co-Chair
Hartig Rhodes Hoge & Lekisch
717 K Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-276-1592
Fax: 907-277-4352
Email: larry.hartig@alaska.gov

Russell L. Winner, Co-Chair
Winner & Associates
900 W. 5th Avenue, Suite 700
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-277-9522
Fax: 907-277-4510
Email: rwinner@winnerlaw.com

Estate Planning & Probate Law
Tonja J. Woelber
Attorney at Law, P.C.
1400 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 380
Anchorage AK 99503
Phone: 907-272-0024
Fax: 907-277-9156
Email: twoelber@alaska.net

Family Law
Lori Ann Colbert
Mendel & Associates
1215 W. 8th Avenue
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-279-5001
Fax: 907-279-5437
Email: lcolbert-mendel@gci.net

S.J. Lee
Kenneth Kirk & Associates
425 G Street, Suite 204
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-279-1659
Fax: 907-278-4119
Email: SJLee@Kirk-Associates.com

Health Law
Joan M. Wilson
Attorney General's Office
1031 W. 4th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-5211
Fax: 907-279-5832
Email: Joan.Wilson@alaska.gov

Immigration Law
Kathy L. Atkinson
2943 Capt. Cook Estates Circle
Anchorage AK 99517
Phone: 907-278-1057
Email: kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov

Intellectual Property
Jon S. Dawson
Davis Wright Tremaine
701 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 800
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-257-5300
Fax: 907-257-5399
Email: jondawson@dwt.com

Elizabeth P. Hodes
Davis Wright Tremaine
701 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 800
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-257-5300
Fax: 907/257-5399
Email: elizabethhodes@dwt.com

International Law
Andrew H. Haas
Haas & Spigelmyer
350 Bonanza Avenue
Homer, AK 99603
Phone: 907-235-1007
Fax: 907-235-2029
Email: yatra@ak.net

Nevhiz E. Calik
Attorney General's Office
1031 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 200
Achorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-1994
Email: nevhizcalik@yahoo.com

Julie L. Webb
Tanana Chiefs Conference
122 1st Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 907-452-8251
Fax: 907-459-3953
Email: jwebb@tananachiefs.org

Law & Community Health Forum
Hanley R. Smith
Municipality of Anchorage
632 W. 6th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-343-4250
Email: hanleyr.smith@gmail.com

Municipal Law
Scott A. Brandt-Erichsen
Borough Attorney
344 Front St.
Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone: 907-228-6635
Fax: 907-228-6683
Email: boroatty@borough.ketchikan.ak.us

Rhonda Fehlen-Westover
Municipality of Anchorage
632 W. 6th Avenue, Suite 730
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-343-4545
Fax: 907-343-4550
Email: WestoverRF@muni.org

New Lawyer Section
Teresa Buelow
Kenai Superior Courthouse
125 Trading Bay Dr., Suite 100
Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: 907-283-8508
Email: tbuelow1981@yahoo.com

Beth Trimmer
State of Alaska
Department of Administration
1016 W. 6th Aveue, Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-6075
Email: bethgtrimmer@yahoo.com

Real Estate Law
Joan Travostino
Kirkpatrick & Lockhart Preston Gates Ellis LLP
420 L Street, Suite 400
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-276-1969
Email: travostj@prestongates.com

Taxation Law
Charles F. Schuetze, LL.M.
Manlely # Brautigam
845 K Street
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-334-5600
Email: chuck@mb.law.pro

Torts/Personal Injury
James N. Leik
Perkins Coie
1029 W. 3rd Avenue
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-279-8561
Fax: 907-276-3108
Email: leikj@perkinscoie.com

Workers' Compensation
Joseph A. Kalamarides
Kalamarides & Associates
711 "H" Street, Suite 450
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: 907-276-2135
Fax: 907-278-8514
Email: joe@kalamarides.com