Delaware State Bar Association

301 N. Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Telephone: (302) 658-5279
Fax: (302) 658-5212
Web: http://www.dsba.org

Overview

Established: 1923
Membership in Other Bar Associations: Mid Atlantic Bar Conference

Bar Profile:
The 70 year history of the Delaware State Bar Association is marked by evolving efforts to promote ethical conduct by lawyers, to require and offer high quality continuing legal education, to protect the public from the unauthorized practice of law, to review and make recommendations regarding Delaware's court system and to foster the mentoring of new lawyers. Service to the public is another hallmark of the Association. Encouraging and facilitating pro bono work, providing a lawyer referral service and offering various legal handbooks are a few examples of its efforts in public outreach. The Association has also remained true to one of its earliest goals, "the cultivation of fraternal relationships among the lawyers of Delaware." This goal has been achieved through a consistent effort to communicate news among members and to sponsor social events. Today, members of the Association enjoy a monthly newsletter, retreats, luncheons, receptions and an annual black tie dinner dance.

The purposes and objects of the Association include the following: the advancement of the science of jurisprudence, securing proper statutory reforms, preserving proper standards for members of the Bar, maintenance of honor and dignity in the profession, upholding principles of legal ethics and professional responsibility, cultivation of fraternal relationship among the Bench and Bar of Delaware, perpetuation of legal history and all such other and proper purposes as befit the practice of law and the proper public perception of the profession. In addition, it is the responsibility of the Association to speak on behalf of the courts and to preserve their honor, integrity, high standards and proper remuneration.

Annual Meetings:
Annual Meetings of the Delaware State Bar Association are traditionally held in June in Wilmington, Delaware.

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Robert B. Young
Young & Young
300 S. State St.
P.O. Box 1191
Wilmington, DE 19903
Phone: 674-8822
Fax: 674-8251
Email: ryounglaw@hotmail.com

President-Elect
Helen L. Winslow
H.D. Lee Company, Inc.
201 Bayard Building
3411 Silverside Road
Wilmington, DE 19810
Phone: 477-3930. ext. 229
Fax: 477-3932
Email: helen_winslow@vfc.com

Vice President At-Large
Geoffrey Gamble
E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc.
Legal D-7052-1
1007 Market St.
Wilmington, DE 19898
Phone: 774-1464
Fax: 774-1398
Email: geoffrey.gamble@usa.dupont.com

Vice President, New Castle County
Elizabeth M. McGeever
Pricket Jones & Elliott, P.A.
1310 King Street
P.O. Box 1328
Wilmington, DE 19899
Phone: 888-6521
Fax: 888-6554
Email: emmcgeever@prickett.com

Vice President, Kent County
John C. Andrade
Parkowski Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
116 W. Water St.
P.O. Box 598
Dover, DE 19903-0598
Phone: 678-3262
Fax: 678-9415
Email: jandrade@pgslegal.com

Vice President, Sussex County
Howard W.T. Purnell, II
Tunnell & Raysor, P.A.
30 East Pine Street
P.O. Box 151
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: 856-7313
Fax: 856-7329
Email: bill@tunnellraysor.com

Secretary
James G. McGiffin, Jr.
Community Legal Aid Society, Inc.
100 West 10th Street, Suite 801
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 575-0660 ext. 221
Fax: 575-0840
Email: jmcgiffin@declasi.org

Assistant Secretary
Jacalyn A. Aff
Court of Common Pleas
New Castle County Courthouse
500 North King Street, Suite 11800
Wilmington, DE 19801-3734
Phone: 255-0862
Fax: 255-2241
Email: jacki.aff@state.de.us

Treasurer
Matthew M. Greenberg
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP
One Rodney Square
P.O. Box 636
Wilmington, DE 19899
Phone: 651-3118
Fax: 651-3001
Email: mgreenbe@skadden.com

Assistant Treasurer
Mary Catherine Landis
Office of the Child Advocate
900 King Street, Suite 210
Wilmington, DE 19801-3341
Phone: 577-6830
Fax: 577-6831
Email: mc.landis@state.de.us

Member-at-Large (Elected)
Crystal L. Carey
Schmittinger & Rodriguez, P.A.
414 South State Street
P.O. Box 497
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 674-0140
Fax: 674-2925
Email: ccarey@schmittrod.com

Member-at-Large (Elected)
Luis A. Feldstein
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP
One Rodney Square
P.O. Box 636
Wilmington, DE 19899
Phone: 651-3115
Fax: 651-3001
Email: lfeldste@skadden.com

Member-at-Large (Elected)
Richard K. Herrmann
Blank Rome LLP
Chase Manhattan Centre, Suite 800
1201 Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801-4226
Phone: 425-6434
Fax: 425-6464
Email: herrmann@blankrome.com

Member-at-Large (Elected)
Benjamin Strauss
Pepper Hamilton LLP
1313 Market Street, Suite 5100
P.O. Box 1709
Wilmington, DE 19899-1709
Phone: 777-6564
Fax: 421-8390
Email: straussb@pepperlaw.com

Member-at-Large (Elected)
Allen M. Terrell
Richards Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
P.O. Box 551
Wilmington, DE 19899-0551
Phone: 651-7732
Fax: 651-7701

Member-at-Large (Elected)
The Honorable David A. White
Superior Court of Delaware
New Castle County Courthouse
500 North King Street, Suite 10400
Wilmington, DE 19801-3733
Phone: 255-0667
Fax: 225-2257
Email: david.white@state.de.us

Immediate Past President
Charles S. McDowell
Potter Anderson & Corroon LLP
1313 North Market Street
P.O. Box 951
Wilmington, DE 19899-0951
Phone: 984-6012
Fax: 658-1192
Email: cmcdowell@potteranderson.com

Judicial Member
The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely
Superior Court of Delaware
Kent County Courthouse
38 The Green
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 739-5331
Fax: 358-1192
Email: henryridgely@state.de.us

Assistant to the President
Andrea C. Rodgers
Supreme Court of Delaware
820 North French Street
P.O. Box 1997
Wilmington, DE 19899-19970
Phone: 577-8427
Fax: 577-5691
Email: acrllewq2@snip.net

Legislative Assistant
Christine P. Schiltz
Parkowski Guerke & Swayze, P.A.
800 King Street, Suite 203
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 594-3332
Fax: 654-3033
Email: cschiltz@pgslegal.com

Member-at-Large (Appointed)
Don C. Brown
E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co., Inc.
Barley Mill Plaza 25/2368
P.O. Box 80025
Wilmington, DE 19880-0025
Phone: 992-4925
Fax: 892-7351
Email: don.c.brown@usa.dupont.com

Member-at-Large (Appointed)
Frances Gauthier
Klett Rooney Lieber & Schorling
1000 West Street, Suite 1410
P.O. Box 1397
Wilmington, DE 19899-1397
Phone: 552-4214
Fax: 552-4295
Email: fgauthier@klettrooney.com

Member-at-Large (Appointed)
Thomas E. Hanson, Jr.
Morris James Hitchens & Williams LLP
222 Delaware Avenue, 10th Floor
P.O. Box 2306
Wilmington, DE 19899-2306
Phone: 888-6892
Fax: 571-1750
Email: thanson@morrisjames.com

Member-at-Large (Appointed)
Craig A. Karsnitz
Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor LLP
110 West Pine Street
P.O. Box 594
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: 856-3571
Fax: 856-9338
Email: ckarsnitz@ycst.com

Member-at-Large (Appointed)
Rebecca Batson Kidner
Rebecca Batson Kidner, P.A.
9 East Loockerman Street. Suite 309
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 734-7471
Fax: 734-1190
Email: rbk@kidner.com

Contacts

Public Information & Services
Kanchalee Reeves
Phone: (302) 658-5279 x213
Email: kreeves@dsba.org

Executive Director
Rina Marks
Phone: (302) 658-5279 x18
Email: rmarks@dsba.org

Continuing Legal Education Director
Alison Macindoe
Phone: (302) 658-5279 x214
Email: amacindoe@dsba.org

Membership Director
Susan Talorico-Bechstein
Phone: (302) 658-5279 x212
Email: sbechstein@dsba.org

Public Information Services
Kanchalee Reeves
Phone: (302) 658-5279 x213
Email: kreeves@dsba.org

Sections

Alternative Dispute Resolution
Richard Dennis Abrams
Heckler & Frabizzio, P.A.
800 Delaware Avenue, Suite 200
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 573-4800
Fax: 573-4806
Email: rabrams@hfddel.com

Commercial Law
William A. Yemc
Richards Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
P.O. Box 551
Wilmington, DE 19899-0551
Phone: 651-7790
Fax: 651-7701
Email: yemc@rlf.com

Computer Law
William R. Denny
Potter Anderson & Corroon
1313 North Market Street
PO Box 951
Wilmington, DE 19899-0951
Phone: 984-6039
Fax: 658-1192
Email: wdenny@potteranderson.com

Corporate Counsel (Co-Chair)
Richmond L. Williams
Hercules Incorporated
Hercules Plaza
1313 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19894-0001
Phone: 594-7020
Fax: 594-7038
Email: rwilliams@herc.com

Corporate Counsel (Co-Chair)
Andrea B. Unterberger
Corporation Service Company
Little Falls Centre 1
2711 Centerville Road, Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808
Phone: 800-927-9801 EXT. 3188
Fax: 636-5454
Email: aunterbe@cscinfo.com

Corporation Law
David C. McBride
Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor LLP
1000 West Street, 17th Floor
PO Box 391
Wilmington, DE 19899-0391
Phone: 571-6639
Fax: 576-3315
Email: dmcbride@ycst.com

Criminal Law
Paul R. Wallace
Department of Justice
Carvel State Office Building
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 577-8500
Fax: 577-2496
Email: paul.wallace@state.de.us

Environmental Law
Thomas H. Kovach
The Bayard Firm
222 Delaware Avenue, Suite 900
PO Box 25130
Wilmington, DE 19899-5130
Phone: 429-4226
Fax: 658-6395
Email: tkovach@bayardfirm.com

Estates & Trusts
Todd Alan Flubacher
Morris Nichols Arsht & Tunnell
1210 North Market Street
PO Box 1347
Wilmington, DE 19899-1347
Phone: 575-7374
Fax: 658-3989
Email: tflubacher@mnat.com

Family Law
Curtis P. Bounds
The Bayard Firm
222 Delaware Avenue, Suite 900
P.O. Box 25130
Wilmington, DE 19899-5130
Phone: 429-4221
Fax: 658-6395
Email: cbounds@bayardfirm.com

Government & Consumer Law
Gregory E. Smith
Department of Justice
Carvel State Office Building, 7th Floor
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 577-8398
Fax: 577-5865
Email: greg.smith@state.de.us

Health Law
Sandra Kaufmann Battaglia
Law Offices of Balick & Balick
711 King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 658-42657
Fax: 658-1682
Email: sbattaglia@balick.com

Intellectual Property
Kevin W. Goldstein
RatnerPrestia
Nemours Building
1007 Orange Street, Suite 1100
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 778-2500
Fax: 778-2600
Email: kwgoldstein@ratnerprestia.com

International Law
David M. Fournier
Pepper Hamilton LLP
1313 Market Street, Suite 5100
PO Box 1709
Wilmington, DE 19899-1709
Phone: 777-6565
Fax: 421-8390
Email: fournierd@pepperlaw.com

Labor & Employment Law
Martin C. Meltzer
City of Wilmington Law Department
City/County Building, 9th Floor
800 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19899-1709
Phone: 777-6565
Fax: 421-8390
Email: mmeltzer@ci.wilmington.de.us

Litigation
Albert H. Manwaring, IV
Pepper Hamilton LLP
1313 Market Street, Suite 5100
PO Box 1709
Wilmington, DE 19899-1709
Phone: 777-6514
Fax: 421-8390
Email: manwaringa@pepperlaw.com

Multicultural Lawyers & Judges
Titania Renita Mack
Richards Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
PO Box 551
Wilmington, DE 19899-0551
Phone: 651-7844
Fax: 651-7701
Email: mack@rlf.com

New Lawyers
William M. Kelleher
Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll LLP
1919 North Market Street, 12th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801-3034
Phone: 252-4460
Fax: 252-4466
Email: kelleherw@ballardspahr.com

Real & Personal Property
Edward A.Tarlov
Elzufon Austin Reardon Tarlov & Mondell, P.A.
300 Delaware Avenue, Suite 1700
P.O. Box 1630
Wilmington, DE 19899-16301
Phone: 428-3181
Fax: 428-3180
Email: etarlov@elzufon.com

Small Firms & Solo Practitioners
Albert M. Greto
Law Offices of Albert M. Greto
1201 Orange Street, Suite 604
P.O. Box 756
Wilmington, DE 19899-0756
Phone: 761-9000
Fax: 761-9035
Email: algreto@gretolaw.com

Taxation
Mark D. Olson
Wilson Halbrook & Bayard
107 West Market Street
P.O. Box 690
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: 856-0015
Fax: 856-7116
Email: mark@markolsonlaw.com

Torts & Insurance Practice
Randall E. Robbins
Ashby & Geddes
222 Delaware Avenue
P.O. Box 1150
Wilmington, DE 19899
Phone: 654-1888
Fax: 654-2067
Email: rrobbins@ashby-geddes.com

Women and the Law
Jennifer Barber Ranji
Wolf Block Schorr and Solis-Cohen LLP
Wilmington Trust Center, Suite 1001
1100 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 202-628-8895
Fax: 778-7807
Email: jbarber@wolfblock.com

Worker's Compensation
William D. Rimmer
Heckler & Frabizzio, P.A..
800 Delaware Avenue, Suite 200
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: 573-4800
Fax: 573-4806
Email: wrimmer@hfddel.com