Kansas Bar Association

1200 SW Harrison
Topeka, KS 66612
Telephone: (785) 234-5696
Fax: (785) 234-3813
Email: info@ksbar.org
Web: http://www.ksbar.org

Overview

Established: 1882
Total Number of Members: 7,000
Membership is: Voluntary

Bar Profile:
The Kansas Bar Association is dedicated to: advancing the professionalism and legal skills of lawyers; providing services to its members; serving the community through advocacy of public policy issues; encouraging public understanding of the law; and promoting the effective administration of our system of justice.

Goals

  • To encourage high standards of professional responsibility, integrity, and civility among lawyers.
  • To implement programs, including participation in pro bono service, to insure equal access to the legal system.
  • To enhance the professional competence of lawyers.
  • To advocate legislative positions regarding the fundamental legal rights of the public or which impact the judiciary, the administration of justice, or the legal profession.
  • To be an effective organization for all Kansas lawyers and judges.
  • To enhance the public's perception of lawyers.
  • To foster productive communication between the bench and bar.
  • To work effectively with local bar associations to achieve shared goals.
  • To aid lawyers in the efficient and economic delivery of professional services and management of law offices.
  • To promote full and equal participation in the profession by women and minorities.

Annual Meetings:
June 9-11, 2010
Wichita, KS

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Timothy M. Oâ??Brien
US District Court District Of Kansas
500 State Ave Rm 259
Kansas City, KS 66101
Phone: (913) 551-5734
Fax: (913) 551-6989
Email: tim_o'brien@ksd.uscourts.gov

Past-President
Thomas E. Wright
KS Corp Commission
1500 SW Arrowhead Rd
Topeka, KS 66604-4027
Phone: (785) 271-3166
Fax: (785) 271-3354
Email: t.wright@kcc.ks.gov

President-Elect
Glenn R. Braun
Glassman Bird Braun & Schwartz LLP
200 W 13th St
PO Box 727
Hays, KS 67601-0727
Phone: (785) 625-6919
Fax: (785) 625-2473
Email: grbraun@haysamerica.com

Vice-President
Rachael K. Pirner
Triplett Woolf & Garretson LLC
2959 N Rock Rd Ste 300
Wichita, KS 67226-5100
Phone: (316) 630-8100
Fax: (316) 630-8101
Email: rkpirner@twgfirm.com

Secretary-Treasurer
Gabrielle M. Thompson
PO Box 1713
Manhattan, KS 66505-1713
Phone: (785) 539-3336
Fax: (785) 539-3336
Email: gabrielle7000@sbcglobal.net

KBA Executive Director
Jeffrey J. Alderman
KBA Executive Director
1200 SW Harrison
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 234-5696
Fax: (785) 234-3813
Email: jalderman@ksbar.org

Contacts

Continuing Legal Education Director
Deana Mead
Email: dmead@ksbar.org

Communications Director
Susan McKaskle
Email: smckaskle@ksbar.org

Assistant Executive Director
Doug Lattimer
Email: dlattimer@ksbar.org

Public Services Manager
Meg Wickham
Email: mwickham@ksbar.org

Sections

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
President: Glenda L. Cafer
Cafer Law Office LLC
3321 SW 6th Ave
Topeka, KS 66606-1905
Phone: (785) 271-9991
Fax: (785) 233-3040
Email: gcafer@sbcglobal.net

AGRICULTURAL LAW SECTION
President: Jerry D. Fairbanks
First National Bank Goodland KS
202 E 11th St
PO Box 570
Goodland, KS 67735-0570
Phone: (785) 890-2000
Fax: (785) 890-2800
Email: fairbanks@fnb.com

ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION
President: Ann M. Zimmerman
Eggers & Zimmerman Law & Mediation
316 N Santa Fe
PO Box 2573
Salina, KS 67402-2573
Phone: (785) 309-0390
Fax: (785) 309-1993
Email: ann@ezlm.com

BANKRUPTCY and INSOLVENCY LAW
President: Daniel W. Forker, Jr.
Forker Suter & Rose LLC
129 W 2nd St Ste 200
PO Box 1868
Hutchinson, KS 67504-1868
Phone: (620) 663-7131
Fax: (620) 669-0714
Email: dforker@pixius.net

CONSTRUCTION LAW
President: Jeffrey A. Kennard
Scharnhorst Ast & Kennard PC
1000 Walnut Ste 1550
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 268-9400
Fax: (816) 268-9409
Email: jak@sakfirm.com

CORPORATE COUNSEL SECTION
President: Robert T. Schendel
Jack Henry & Assoc Inc
10910 W 87 St
Lenexa, KS 66214
Phone: (913) 341-3434
Fax: (913) 495-1111
Email: rschendel@jackhenry.com

CORPORATION, BANKING & BUSINESS LAW
President: William P. Matthews
Foulston Siefkin LLP - Wichita
1551 N Waterfront Pkwy Ste 100
Wichita, KS 67206-4466
Phone: (316) 267-6371
Fax: (866) 346-2028
Email: bmatthews@foulston.com

CRIMINAL LAW
President: Michael Gayoso, Jr.
Crawford Co Attorney's Office
111 E Forest Ste A
Girard, KS 66743
Phone: (620) 724-6780
Fax: (620) 724-6790
Email: michael.gayoso.jr@gmail.com

ELDER LAW
President: Stacey L. Janssen
Dwyer & Dykes LC
6750 W 93rd St Ste 230
Overland Park, KS 66212-1465
Phone: (913) 383-3131
Fax: (913) 383-2662
Email: stacey@staceygunyalaw.com

EMPLOYMENT LAW
President: Virginia Crimmins
Stueve Siegel Hanson LLP
460 Nichols Rd Ste 200
Kansas City, MO 64112-2003
Phone: (816) 714-7100
Fax: (816) 714-7101
Email: crimmins@stuevesiegel.com

FAMILY LAW
President: Ann G. Soderberg
Lambdin Soderberg & Lambdin Chtd
830 N Main St
PO Box 797
Wichita, KS 67201-0797
Phone: ((316) 265-3285
Fax: (316) 265-1303
Email: ann@lambdinlaw.com

GOVERNMENT LAWYERS
President: Karen L. Torline
City Of Shawnee
5860 Renner Rd
Shawnee, KS 66217
Phone: (913) 742-6907
Email: ktorline@ci.shawnee.ks.us

HEALTH LAW
President: Frankie J. Forbes
Forbes Law Group LLC
10740 Nall Ave Ste 330
Overland Park, KS 66211
Phone: (913) 341-8608
Fax: (913) 341-8606
Email: fforbes@forbeslawgroup.com

INSURANCE
President: William W. Sneed
Polsinelli Shughart PC
555 Kansas Ave Ste 101
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 233-1446
Fax: (785) 233-1939
Email: bsneed@polsinelli.com

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY
President: Allen Justin Poplin
Lathrop & Gage LLP - OP
10851 Mastin Blvd Ste 1000 Bldg 82
Overland Park, KS 66210-1669
Phone: (913) 451-5130
Fax: (913) 451-0875
Email: jpoplin@lathropgage.com

LAW PRACTICE MANAGEMENT
President: Angel R. Zimmerman
Valentine Zimmerman & Zimmerman PA
112 W 7th Ste 200
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 357-0021
Fax: (785) 357-1548
Email: angel@valentine-law.com

LITIGATION
President: Trey T. Meyer
Law Office Of Trey Meyer LLC
843 New Hampshire
PO Box 4512
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: (785) 371-4685
Fax: (785) 371-1225
Email: trey@treymeyerlaw.com

OIL, GAS & MINERAL LAW
President: E. Jay Deines
Deines & Deines
110 N Main St
PO Box 398
Wakeeney KS 67672-0398
Phone: (785) 743-5766
Fax: (785) 743-5769
Email: ejdeines@ruraltel.net

REAL ESTATE, PROBATE & TRUST LAW
President: Kevin M. Conley
UMB Bank
1010 Grand Ave
PO Box 419226
Kansas City, MO 64141
Phone: (816) 860-7738
Fax: (816) 860-5080
Email: kevin.conley@umb.com

SOLO and SMALL FIRM
President: Calvin K. Williams
Calvin K. Williams Chtd
280 N Court Ave
PO Box 304
Colby, KS 67701-0304
Phone: (785) 460-9777
Fax: (785) 460-9817
Email: calwilliamsesq@hotmail.com

TAX LAW
President: Jeffrey A. Houston
Wise & Reber LC
120 W Kansas Ave Ste B
McPherson KS 67460
Phone: (620) 241-0554
Fax: (620) 241-7692
Email: jhouston@bwisecounsel.com

YOUNG LAWYERS
President: Jennifer M. Hill
McDonald Tinker Et Al
300 W Douglas Ste 50
PO Box 207
Wichita, KS 67202-2919
Phone: (316) 263-5851
Fax: (316) 263-4677
Email: jhill@mtsqh.com