Maine State Bar Association

124 State Street
P.O. Box 788
Augusta, ME 04332-0788
Telephone: (207) 622-7523
Fax: (207) 623-0083
Email: info@mainebar.org
Web: www.mainebar.org

Overview

Established: 1891
Total Number of Members: 3,100
Membership is: Voluntary

Bar Profile:

History
In 1891 an act was passed by the Maine Legislature incorporating the Maine State Bar Association "for the purpose of promoting the interests of the legal profession and of instituting legal reforms." The Act became effective, when approved, March 6, 1891. The first meeting was held on March 18, 1891.

Mission Statement
The Maine State Bar Association promotes the honor, dignity and professionalism of lawyers, advances the knowledge, skills and interests of its members, and supports the public interest in a fair and effective system of justice.

CLE Programs
The CLE Committee of the Maine State Bar Association produces a wide variety of educational programs each year including video replays, half day seminars and hosts the American Law Network satellite telecasts. MSBA/CLE also produces quality textbooks and audio packages that are available for sale, as well as videotapes that are available for rent. An extensive library of products no longer available for sale is also maintained. Updated calendar and product information can be found at our website-http://www.mainebar.org. For additional information, call the CLE office at 207-622-7554 or e-mail us at cle@mainebar.org.

Annual Meetings:
January 21-23, 2010
Marriott at Sable Oaks
South Portland, Maine

Summer Meetings:
June 17-19, 2010
Harborside Hotel, Marina & Spa
Bar Harbor, Maine

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Geraldine G. Sanchez, Esquire
Pierce Atwood LLP
One Monument Square
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 791-1100
Fax: (207) 791-1350
Email: gsanchez@pierceatwood.com

Immediate Past President
Virginia E. Davis, Esquire
PretiFlaherty
P.O. Box 1058
Augusta, ME 04332-1058
Phone: (207) 623-5300
Fax: (207) 623-2914
Email: vdavis@preti.com

President Elect
David S. Wakelin, Esquire
Wakelin Hallock & O'Donovan LLP
57 Exchange Street, Suite 100
Portland, ME 04101-5055
Phone: (207) 774-3595
Fax: (207) 774-4808
Email: dsw-wholaw@maine.rr.com

Vice President
Anne-Marie L. Storey, Esquire
Rudman & Winchell
P.O. Box 1401
Bangor, ME 04402-1401
Phone: (207) 947-4501
Fax: (207) 941-9715
Email: astorey@rudman-winchell.com

Treasurer
Diane Dusini, Esquire
Mittel Asen LLC
P.O. Box 427
Portland, ME 04112-0427
Phone: (207) 775-3101
Fax: (207) 871-0683
Email: ddusini@mittelasen.com

Governor - District One
Keith R. Jacques, Esquire
Smith Elliott Smith & Garmey PA
P.O. Box 1179
Saco, ME 04072-1179
Phone: (207) 282-1527
Fax: (207) 283-4412
Email: kjacques@sesg.com

Governor - District Two
Edward L. Dilworth, III, Esquire
Dow's Law Office
P.O. Box 349
Norway, ME 04268-0349
Phone: (207) 743-6351
Fax: (207) 743-8147
Email: ted@dowslawoffice.com

Governor - District Three
Albert G. Ayre, Esquire
Ayre & Liddell LLP
120 Exchange Street, Suite 202
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 874-6077
Fax: (207) 874-0531
Email: alayre@ayreliddell.com

Governor - District Three
Lauren H. Epstein, Esquire
Bernstein Shur
P.O. Box 9729
Portland, ME 04104-5029
Phone: (207) 774-1200
Fax: (207) 774-1127
Email: lepstein@bernsteinshur.com

Governor - District Three
Peter C. Felmly, Esquire
Drummond Woodsum & MacMahon
84 Marginal Way, Suite 600
Portland, ME 04104
Phone: (207) 772-1941
Fax: (207) 772-3627
Email: pfelmly@dwmlaw.com

Governor - District Four
David Levesque, Esquire
Law Office of David Levesque PA
P.O. Box 425
Damariscotta, ME 04543
Phone: (207) 563-7416
Fax: (207) 563-7417
Email: david@levesquelaw.com

Governor - District Five
William D. Robitzek, Esquire
Berman & Simmons PA
P.O. Box 961
Lewiston, ME 04243-0961
Phone: (207) 784-3576
Fax: (207) 784-7699
Email: wrobitzek@bermansimmons.com

Governor - District Six
Phillip E. Johnson, Esquire
Johnson & Webbert LLP
160 Capitol Street
Augusta, ME 04332-0079
Phone: (207) 623-5110
Fax: (207) 622-4160
Email: pjohnson@johnsonwebbert.com

Governor - District Seven
Warren C. Shay, Esquire
Perkins Townsend Shay & Talbot PA
P.O. Box 467
Skowhegan, ME 04976-0467
Phone: (207) 474-9532
Fax: (207) 474-6806
Email: warrenptst@myfairpoint.net

Governor - District Eight
Jason R. Heath, Esquire
The Heath Law Firm
91 Camden Street, Suite 305
Rockland, ME 04841
Phone: (207) 596-6506
Fax: (207) 596-6507
Email: Jason@jasonheathlaw.com

Governor - District Nine
Stephen J. Burlock, Esquire
Weatherbee & Burlock PA
P.O. Box 1127
Bangor, ME 04402-1127
Phone: (207) 942-9900
Fax: (207) 942-6999
Email: steve@weathwood.com

Governor - District Ten
Eric N. Columber, Esquire
Roy Beardsley Williams & Granger LLC
P.O. Box 723
Ellsworth, ME 04605-0723
Phone: (207) 667-7121
Fax: (207) 667-5513
Email: eric@rbwglaw.com

Governor - District Eleven
Stephen D. Nelson, Esquire
Severson Hand & Nelson PA
P.O. Box 804
Houlton, ME 04730-0804
Phone: (207) 532-6527
Fax: (207) 532-3113
Email: shn@pwless.net

Governor - In-House Counsel
Barbara H. Furey, Esquire
UnumProvident Corporation
2211 Congress Street, C475
Portland, ME 04122
Phone: (207) 575-3240
Fax: (207) 575-3973
Email: bfurey@unumprovident.com

Governor - Public Service Sector
Judson Esty-Kendall, Esquire
Pine Tree Legal Assistance
61 Maine Street, Room 41
Bangor, ME 04401
Phone: (207) 942-8241
Fax: (207) 942-8323
Email: jesty-kendall@ptla.org

Governor - Young Lawyers Section
Amanda J. Doherty, Esquire
215 High Street, Unit 105
South Portland, ME 04106
Phone: (207) 767-0158
Email: ajdoherty@aol.com

Contacts

Executive Director
Julie G. Rowe
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: jrowe@mainebar.org

Deputy Executive Director
Angela P. Weston
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: aweston@mainebar.org

Administration & Finance Director
Lisa A. Pare
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: lpare@mainebar.org

Continuing Legal Education Director
Linda M. Morin-Pasco
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: lmorinpasco@mainebar.org

Member Services Director
Neil Cavanaugh
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: ncavanaugh@mainebar.org

LRIS Director
Penny Hilton
Phone: (207) 622-7523
Email: philton@mainebar.org

Sections

Administrative Law Section
John D. Delahanty, Esquire
Pierce Atwood
One Monument Square
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 791-1100
Fax: (207) 791-1350
Email: jdelahanty@pierceatwood.com

Alternative Dispute Resolution Section
James M. Bowie, Esquire
Thompson & Bowie LLP
P.O. Box 4630
Portland, ME 04112-4630
Phone: (207) 774-2500
Fax: (207) 774-3591
Email: jbowie@thompsonbowie.com

Bankruptcy & Reorganization Section
Benjamin E. Marcus, Esquire
Drummond Woodsum & MacMahon
P.O. Box 9781
Portland, ME 04104-5081
Phone: (207) 772-1941
Fax: (207) 772-3627
Email: bmarcus@dwmlaw.com

Curtis E. Kimball, Esquire
Rudman & Winchell
P.O. Box 1401
Bangor, ME 04402-1401
Phone: (207) 947-4501
Fax: (207) 941-9715
Email: ckimball@rudman-winchell.com

Business Law Section
Christopher R. Smith, Esquire
Verrill Dana LLP
P.O. Box 586
Portland, ME 04112-0586
Phone: (207) 774-4000
Fax: (207) 774-7499
Email: csmith@verrilldana.com

Child Protection and Juvenile Justice Section
Steven M. Carey, Esquire
The Carey Law Firm PA
40 Forest Falls Drive
Yarmouth, ME 04096
Phone: (207) 847-3369
Fax: (207) 847-3381
Email: scarey@thecareylawfirm.com

Consumer & Financial Institution Law Section
Gretchen L. Jones, Esquire
Skelton Taintor & Abbott
P.O. Box 3200
Auburn, ME 04212-3200
Phone: (207) 784-3200
Fax: (207) 784-3345
Email: gjones@3200.com

Criminal Law Section
Randall Bates, Esquire
Strike Goodwin & O'Brien
400 Allen Avenue
Portland, ME 04103-3715
Phone: (207) 878-5519
Email: rbates@sgolawyers.com

Elder Law Section
Martin C. Womer, Esquire
Maine Center for Elder Law LLC
57 Portland Road, Suite 4
Kennebunk, ME 04043
Phone: (207) 467-3301
Fax: (207) 467-3305
Email: mwomer@mainecenterforelderlaw.com

Family Law Section
Susan M. Schultz, Esquire
Givertz Hambley Scheffee & Lavoie PA
P.O. Box 4801
Portland, ME 04112-4801
Phone: (207) 772-8373
Fax: (207) 772-4976
Email: Schultz@mainefamilylawyer.com

Federal & State Taxation Section
Martin I. Eisenstein, Esquire
Brann & Isaacson LLP
P.O. Box 3070
Lewiston, ME 04243-3070
Phone: (207) 786-3566
Fax: (207) 783-9325
Email: meisenstein@brannlaw.com

Federal Practice Section
Karen Frink Wolf, Esquire
Friedman Gaythwaite Wolf & Leavitt
P.O. Box 4726
Portland, ME 04112-4726
Phone: (207) 761-0900
Fax: (207) 761-0186
Email: kwolf@fgwl-law.com

Government & Public Sector Section
Mary K. Kahl, Esquire
P.O. Box 2766
South Portland, ME 04116
Phone: (207) 799-8008
Fax: (207) 767-3573
Email: mkahl@kahllaw.com

Health Law Section
Kathleen G. Healy, Esquire
Verrill Dana LLP
P.O. Box 586
Portland, ME 04112-0586
Phone: (207) 774- 4000
Fax: (207) 774- 7499
Email: khealy@verrilldana.com

Susan H. Tedrick, Esquire
Franklin Community Health Network
111 Franklin Health Commons
Farmington, ME 04938
Phone: (207) 779-2557
Email: stedrick@fchn.org

Insurance Practice Section
John H. Montgomery, Esquire
Bernstein Shur Sawyer & Nelson
P.O. Box 9729
Portland, ME 04104-5029
Phone: (207) 774-1200
Fax: (207) 774-1127
Email: jmontgomery@bernsteinshur.com

Intellectual Property Section
Kevin R. Haley, Esquire
Brann & Isaacson LLP
P.O. Box 3070
Lewiston, ME 04243-3070
Phone: (207) 786-3566
Fax: (207) 783-9325
Email:khaley@brannlaw.com

International Practice Law Section
Frederick L. Lipp, Esquire
Berstein Shur Sawyer & Nelson
P.O. Box 9729
Portland, ME 04104-5029
Phone: (207) 774-1200
Fax: (207) 774-1127
Email: flipp@bernsteinshur.com

Labor & Employment Law Section
Jeffrey W. Peters, Esquire
PretiFlaherty
P.O. Box 9546
Portland, ME 04112-9546
Phone: (207) 791-3000
Email: Email: jpeters@preti.com

Robyn G. March, Esquire
Lambert Coffin
P.O. Box 15215
Portland, ME 04112-5215
Phone: (207) 874-4000
Fax: (207) 874-4040
Email: rmarch@lambertcoffin.com

Municipal Law Section
Matthew Tarasevich, Esquire
Bernstein Shur
P.O. Box 9729
Portland, ME 04104-5029
Phone: (207) 774-1200
Fax: (207) 774-1127
Email: mtarasevich@bernsteinshur.com

Natural Resources & Environmental Law Section
Nicholas D. Livesay, Esquire
Pierce Atwood LLP
One Monument Square
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 791-1100
Fax: (207) 791-1350
Email: nlivesay@piercewood.com

New Lawyers Section
Frank H. Bishop Jr., Esquire
Pierce Atwood LLP
One Monument Square
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 791-1100
Fax: (207) 791-791-1350
Email: fbishop@pierceatwood.com

Real Estate and Title Section
Robin D. Watts, Esquire
First American Title Insurance Company
100 Foden Road, Suite 202 West
South Portland, ME 04106
Phone: (207) 774-6884
Fax: (207) 774-7463
Email: rdwatts@firstam.com

Trusts and Estates Section
Nathaniel S. Putnam, Esquire
Eaton Peabody
P.O. Box 1210
Bangor, ME 04402-1210
Phone: (207) 947-0111
Fax: (207) 942-3040
Email: nputnam@eatonpeabody.com

Women's Law Section
Elizabeth A. Olivier, Esquire
PretiFlaherty
P.O. Box 9546
Portland, ME 04112- 9546
Phone: (207) 791-3000
Fax: (207) 791-3111
Email: eolivier@preti.com

Jennifer E. Hoopes, Esquire
Foreside Financial Group LLC
3 Canal Plaza, Suite 100
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: (207) 553-7138
Fax: (207) 553-7151
Email: jhoopes@foresides.com

Workers Compensation Section
Stephen Hessert, Esquire
Norman Hanson & DeTroy LLC
P.O. Box 4600
Portland, ME 04112-4600
Phone: (207) 774-7000
Fax: (207) 775-0806
Email: shessert@nhdlaw.com