State Bar of Michigan

Michael Franck Building
306 Townsend Street
Lansing, MI 48933-2083
Telephone: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248
Web: http://www.michbar.org

Overview

Established: 1935
Total Number of Members: 35,200
Membership in Other Bar Associations: National Association of Bar Executives

Bar Profile:
The State Bar shall aid in promoting improvements in the administration of justice and advancements in jurisprudence, in improving relations between the legal profession and the public, and in promoting the interest of the legal profession in this State.

In accordance with Supreme Court Rules, the State Bar of Michigan shall support and improve:

  1. The efficiency of the justice system
  2. Law, rules and jurisprudence
  3. The independence of the bench and bar
  4. The professionalism and competence of the bench and bar
  5. Access to justice for all
  6. The public service of the bench and bar
  7. Public understanding of and respect for the justice system and profession
  8. The openness of the profession
  9. Member interests and a high-quality professional practice and life
  10. The position of the State Bar of Michigan as the representative of the profession

Annual Meeting
Thirty-eight Sections present programs about their Specialty of Law, Professional Development opportunites, Exhibition Showcase.

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Scott S. Brinkmeyer
Mika, Meyers, Beckett & Jones, PLC
900 Monroe Ave. NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-1423
Phone: (616) 632-8000
Fax: (616) 632-8002
Email: sbrinkmeyer@mmbjlaw.com

President-Elect
Nancy J. Diehl
Wayne County Prosecuting Attorneys Office
1441 Saint Antoine St. #1157
Detroit, MI 48226-2311
Phone: (313) 224-5742
Fax: (313) 224-6435
Email: ndiehl@co.wayne.mi.us

Vice-President
Thomas W. Cranmer
Miro Weiner & Kramer, PC
38500 Woodward Ave Ste 100
PO Box 908
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304-5048
Phone: (248) 258-1202
Fax: (248) 646-5052
Email: tcranmer@mirolaw.com

Secretary
Kimberly M. Cahill
Shoenherr & Cahill, PC
24735 Van Dyke Ave
Center Line, MI 48105-2314
Phone: (586) 757-0733
Fax: (586) 757-2968
Email: kimmcahill@aol.com

Treasurer
Ronald D. Keefe
Kendricks, Bordeau, Adamini, Chilman & Greenlee, PC
128 W Spring St
Marquette, MI 49855-4608
Phone: (906) 226-2543
Fax: (906) 226-2819
Email: keefer@kendrickslaw.com

Contacts

John T. Berry, Executive Director
Lisa Allen-Kost, Director, Programs & Services
Thomas Byerley, Director, Professional Standards Division
Nancy Brown, Director, Publications
Kathleen Fox, Director, Human Resources
Jim Horsch, Director, Administration & Finance
Janet Welch, General Counsel
Glenna Peters, Executive Coordinator

Sections

Administrative Law
Thomas L. Sparks
Butzel Long, PC
110 W Michigan Ave Ste 1100
Lansing, MI 48933-1641
Phone: (517) 372-6622
Fax: (517) 372-6672
Email: sparks@butzel.com

Alternative Dispute Resolution
Deborah Berecz
Berecz & Klawiter, PLC
4265 Niles Rd.
St. Joseph, MI 49805-9603
Phone: (269) 428-0838
Fax: (269) 428-0825
Email: berecz@bereczandklawiter.com

American Indian Law
John J. Lemire
2184 N. Beech Daly Rd.
Dearborn Heights, MI 48127-3492
Phone: (313) 278-6696
Fax: (313) 278-6717
Email: arbman98@aol.com

Animal Law
Beatrice M. Friedlander
6861 Bunker Hill Ln
Canton, MI 48187-3033
Phone: (734) 981-6311
Fax: (734) 981-6311
Email: beefriedlander@yahoo.com

Antitrust, Franchising and Trade Regulation
Gregory D. Wittrock
Masco Corp.
21001 Van Born Rd.
Taylor, MI 48180-1340
Phone: (313) 274-7400
Fax: (313) 792-6430
Email: greg_wittrock@mascohq.com

Appellate Practice
Victor S. Valenti
Fieger, Fieger, Kenney & Johnson, PC
19390 W 10 Mile Rd
Southfield, MI 48075-2458
Phone: (248) 355-5555
Fax: (248) 355-1445
Email: v.valenti@fiegerlaw.com

Arts, Communication, Entertainment and Sports
Jeffrey G. Richardson
28545 Greenfield Road, Suite 200
Southfield, MI 48076-7155
Phone: (248) 395-2777
Fax: (248) 395-2773
Email: jr@wallstreetmusic.com

Aviation Law
Robert Hoschner
149 E. Corunna Ave.
Corunna, MI 48817-1448
Phone: (989) 743-3030
Fax: (989) 743-5827
Email: bobhoschner@yahoo.com

Business Law
G. Ann Baker
Bureau of Commercial Services
PO Box 30054
Lansing, MI 48909-7554
Phone: (517) 241-3838
Fax: (517) 241-6445
Email: abaker@michigan.gov

Children's Law
Rebekah Visconti
Assistant Attorney General Children and Youth Services Division
1025 E Forest Ave, Ste 438
Detroit, MI 48207-1024
Phone: (313)833-3777
Fax: (313) 833-3797
Email: viscontir@michigan.gov

Computer Law
Frederick Schuchman, III
3558 E Oakbrook Dr
Midland, MI 48642-9766
Phone: (989) 631-6924
Email: SFESIII@aol.com

Consumer Law
Steven E. Goren
Goren, Goren & Harris, PC
30400 Telegraph Rd Ste 470
Bingham Farms, MI 48025-5818
Phone: (248) 540-3100
Fax: (248) 540-3136
Email: goren@gorenlaw.com

Criminal Law
Michael J. Brady
17117 W 9 Mile Rd Ste 1330
Southfield, MI 48075-4519
Phone: (248) 417-2679
Fax: (248) 855-5999
Email: MichaelJFB@aol.com

Elder Law & Advocacy
Douglas G. Chalgian
Chalgian Law Office, PLLC
1860 Abbott Rd.
East Lansing, MI 48823-1463
Phone: (517) 332-3800
Fax: (517) 332-4600
Email: chalgianlaw@ameritech.net

Environmental Law
Todd R. Dickinson
Fisher & Dickinson, PC
4764 E. Fulton St. Ste 204
Ada, MI 49301-9086
Phone: (616) 575-5655
Fax: (616) 575-5619
Email: trd@fisher-dickinson.com

Family Law
Elizabeth Sadowski
Colbert, Shepard & Sadowski, LLP
431 6th St
PO Box 8100
Rochester, MI 48307-1401
Phone: (248) 652-4000
Fax: (248) 652-1259
Email: sadowski@mindspring.com

General Practice
Richard T. White, Jr.
28 N Saginaw St Ste 1008
Pontiac, MI 48342-2143
Phone: (248) 332-0550
Fax: (248) 332-8295
Email: rtwjrlaw@aol.com

Health Care Law
Kathrin Kudner
Dykema Gossett, PLLC
400 Renaissance Ctr
Detroit, MI 48243-1668
Phone: (313) 568-6896
Fax: (313) 568-6832
Email: kkudner@dykema.com

Intellectual Property Law
David Kelley
Ford Global Technologies, Inc.
1 Parklane Blvd Ste 600E
Dearborn, MI 48216-4226
Phone: (313) 845-5487
Fax: (313) 322-7162
Email: dkelley2@ford.com

International Law
Jan Rewers McMillan
Law Offices of Jan Rewers McMillan
400 Galleria Officentre Ste 117
Southfield, MI 48034-2161
Phone: (248) 352-8480
Fax: (248) 352-8680
Email: jrmcmillan@provide.net

Judicial Conference
Hon. Sara J. Smolenski
63rd District Court
649 Kenmoor Ave SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-2375
Phone: (616) 336-4254
Fax: (616) 336-4283
Email: sara.smolenski@kentcounty.org

Labor and Employment Law
David E. Khorey
Varnum, Riddering, Schmidt & Howlett LLP
PO Box 352
333 Bridge St. NW, Bridgewater Place
Grand Rapids, MI 49501-0352
Phone: (616) 336-6618
Fax: (616) 336-7000
Email: dekhorey@varnumlaw.com

Latin American Bar Activities
Mayra Fe Lorenzana-Miles
Dâ??Luge, Miles, Miles & Cameron, PLC
67 N Walnut St
Mount Clemens, MI 48043-5619
Phone: (586) 468-7511
Fax: (586) 468-7049
Email: mmiles@dmmplc.com

Law Practice Management
Barry L. Brickner
32500 Telegraph Rd Ste 205
Bingham Farms, MI 48025-2463
Phone: (248) 258-4930
Fax: (248) 645-6645
Email: BarryL2@mich.com

Law Student Section
Greg Jon Mick 63081
12342 Mission Hills Dr
Dewitt, MI 48820-7947
Phone: (517) 669-5067
Email: lawstudent00@comcast.net

Legal Administrator
Jeanne Y. Wong
Jaffe, Raitt, Heuer & Weiss, PC
1 Woodward Ave. Ste. 2400
Detroit, MI 48226-5485
Phone: (313) 964-8637
Fax: (313) 965-5448
Email: jwong@jafferaitt.com

Legal Assistants
Kathy Ann Blunck
Smith, Haughey, Rice & Roegge
202 E. State St
PO Box 848
Traverse City, MI 49684-2515
Phone: (231) 929-4878
Fax: (231) 929-4182
Email: kblunck@shrr.com

Litigation
Robert B. June
124 Pearl St., Ste. 201
Ypsilanti, MI 48197-5374
Phone: (734) 481-1000
Fax: (734) 481-1732
Email: bobjune@voyager.net

Negligence Law
Judith A. Susskind
The Thurswell Law Firm
1000 Town Ctr Ste 500
Southfield, MI 48075-1221
Phone: (248) 354-2222
Fax: (248) 354-2323
Email: jsusskind@thurswell.com

Prisons & Corrections
Stephen J. Gobbo
State of Michigan
PO Box 24222
Lansing, MI 48909-4222
Phone: (517) 241-9267
Fax: (517) 241-9296
Email: sjgobbo@michigan.gov

Probate & Estate Planning
Henry M. Grix
Dickinson Wright, PLLC
38525 Woodward Avenue, Suite 2000
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304-5092
Phone: (248) 433-7200 x 7548
Fax: (248) 433-7274
Email: hgrix@dickinson-wright.com

Public Corporation Law
Clyde Robinson
City of Battle Creek
10 N. Division St.
Battle Creek, MI 49014-4004
Phone: (269) 966-3385
Fax: (269) 966-3612
Email: cjrobinson@ci.battle-creek.mi.us

Real Property Law
Lawrence Dudek
150 W. Jefferson Ave. Ste 2500
Detroit, MI 48226-4415
Phone: (313) 496-8439
Fax: (313) 496-8454
Email: dudek@millercanfield.com

Senior Lawyers
John W. Piggott
Seward, Tally & Piggott, PC
PO Box 795
1009 Washington Ave
Bay City, MI 48707-0795
Phone: (989) 892-6551
Fax: (989) 892-1568
Email: 1stplaw@ameritech.net

Social Security
Thomas M. Stellard
161 Ottawa Ave NW
Suite 305E
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2712
Phone: (616) 459-9577
Fax: (616) 459-2417

Taxation
Sherill Siebert
Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn, LLP
2290 First National Bldg
660 Woodward Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226-3506
Phone: (313) 465-7556
Fax: (313) 465-7557
Email: ssiebert@honigman.com

Workers Compensation Law
Michael Flynn
McCroskey, Feldman, Cochrane & Brock, PC
1440 Peck St.
Muskegon, MI 49443-0027
Phone: (616) 726-4861
Fax: (616) 725-8144
Email: mflynn2@aol.com

Young Lawyers
D. Andrew Portinga
Miller, Johnson, Snell, & Cummisky, PLC
250 Monroe Ave. NW Ste. 800
PO Box 306
Grand Rapids, MI 49501-0306
Phone: (616) 831-1700
Fax: (616) 988-1772
Email: portingaa@mjsc.com