State Bar of Montana

7 W. 6th Avenue, Suite 2B
Helena, MT 59601
P.O. Box 577 (Zip: 59624)
Telephone: (406) 442-7660
Fax: (406) 442-7763
Lawyer Referral Service (406) 449-6577
Email: mailbox@montanabar.org
Web: http://www.montanabar.org

Overview

Established: 1974 (became unified bar)
Total Number of Members: 4,197
Out of State Members: 1,141
Membership is: Compulsory

Bar Profile:
The State Bar of Montana was created by order of the Montana Supreme Court in January, 1974. In its Order, the Court provided that all persons practicing law in the state were obliged to be members of the State Bar. Prior to that date, the State had a voluntary bar association--the Montana Bar Association, established in January, 1885.

The purposes of the State Bar are to aid the courts in maintaining and improving the administration of justice; to foster, maintain and require on the part of attorneys, high standards of integrity, learning, competence, public service, and conduct; to safeguard proper professional interests of members of the bar; to encourage the formation and activities of local bar associations; to provide a forum for discussion of and effective action concerning subjects pertaining to the practice of law, the science of jurisprudence and law reform, and relations of the Bar to the public; to provide for the continuing legal education of members of the Bar and to insure that the responsibilities of the legal profession to the public are more effectively discharged.

MISSION STATEMENT
"The mission of the Board of Trustees of the State Bar of Montana is to lead the legal profession and serve the public interest."

The day-to-day responsibility for the implementation of this plan lies with the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Director. The plan itself will be reviewed and, as needed, amended annually at a retreat of the Board of Trustees.

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Peggy Probasco
17 W. Galena
Butte, MT 59701
Phone: (406) 497-6600
Fax: (406) 782-9728
Email: pprobasco@mt.gov

Immediate Past President
Bernard F. McCarthy
P.O. Box 523
Whitehall, MT 59759
Phone: (406) 782-3354
Fax: (406) 782-0537
Email: bernard_mccarthy@mtb.uscourts.gov

Secretary-Treasurer
Christian D. Tweeten
PO Box 201401
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-1380
Fax: (406) 444-3549
Email: ctweeten@mt.gov

Chair of the Board
Jock Schulte
2425 Mullan Road
Missoula, MT 59808
Phone: (406) 721-6655
Fax: (406) 543-5023
Email: jcs@jschultelaw.com

Contacts

Executive Director
Christopher L. Manos
Budget, Health Insurance, Legislation
Phone: 447-2203
Email: cmanos@montanabar.org

Bar Counsel/Deputy Director
Betsy Brandborg
Ethics Opinions and Inquiries
Phone: 447-2205
Email: betsyb@montanabar.org

Network Administrator
Michele L. Johnson
Computers, Database
Phone: 442-7660 x1206
Email: mjohnson@montanabar.org

Program Coordinator
Geraldine "Gino" Dunfee
Annual Meetings, State Bar CLE Seminars, State Bar Elections, Fee Arbitration
Phone: 447-2206
Email: gdunfee@montanabar.org

Bar Admissions Administrator
Jan Weber
Admissions, Character and Fitness, Bar Exam, Pro Hac Vice, Mentor Program, Rookie Camp
Phone: 447-2202
Email: jweber@montanabar.org

Lawyer Referral and Information Service Coordinator
Marie Connolly
Lawyer Referral and Information Service, Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection, Unauthorized Practice of Law
Phone: 447-2204
Email: mconnolly@montanabar.org

Communications Director
Charles Wood
The Montana Lawyer magazine, State Bar Web Site, Publications, Public Information
Phone: 447-2200
Email:cwood@montanabar.org

Continuing Legal Education Administrator
Kathy Powers
Phone: 447-2207
Email: kpowers@montanabar.org

Executive Assistant/Membership Director
Jill Diveley
Phone: (406) 442-7660, ext. 1201
Email: jdiveley@montanabar.org

Disciplinary Director
Shaun R. Thompson
Phone: (406) 841-2980
Email: sthompson@mt.gov

Dispute Resolution Committee Chair
Patrick A. Quinn
Phone: (406) 329-5460
Email: pquinn@mt.gov

Sections

BANKRUPTCY SECTION
Chair: Tom Mackay
P.O. Box 2559
Billings, MT 59103
Phone: (406) 248-7781
Fax: (406) 248-7889
Email: tom_mackay@mtd.uscourts.gov
Membership: 120
Dues: $20

BUSINESS, ESTATES, TRUSTS, TAX & REAL PROPERTY LAW SECTION
Chair: Chuck Willey
806 Parkview Way
Missoula, MT 59803
Phone: (406) 549-3852
Email: cwwilley@earthlink.net
Membership: 242
Dues: $20

CHILD & FAMILY LAW SECTION
Chair: P. Mars Scott
PO Box 5988
Missoula, MT 59806
Phone: (406) 327-0600
Fax: (406) 728-0948
Email: pmarsscott@pmarsscott.com
Membership: 191
Dues: $10

CONSTRUCTION LAW SECTION
Chair: John "Buzz" Tarlow
1439 W. Babcock
Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone: (406) 586-9714
Fax: (406) 586-9720
Email: jtarlow@lawmt.com
Membership: 46
Dues: $20

CRIMINAL LAW SECTION
Chair: Herman A. "Chuck" Watson, III.
1700 W. Koch, Suite 2
Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone: (406) 586-4704
Fax: (406) 582-0836
Email: hwatson@montana.net
Membership: 106
Dues: $15

FEDERAL PRACTICE SECTION
Chair: Timothy M. Bechtold
PO Box 8988
Missoula, MT 59807
Phone: (406) 543-5156
Fax: (406) 728-8878
Email: tim@rossbachlaw.com
Membership: 140
Dues: $20

HEALTH CARE LAW SECTION
Chair: Vacant
Membership: 50
Dues: $20

INDIAN LAW SECTION
Co-Chair: Denise Juneau
PO Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-3024
Email: djuneau@mt.gov

Co-Chair:Yolanda Page
Box 121
St. Ignatius, MT 59865
Email: lanap@cskt.org
Membership: 86
Dues: $10

NATURAL RESOURCE, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL LAW SECTION
Chair: R. Allan Payne
PO Box 1185
Helena, MT 59624
Phone: (406) 443-2211
Fax: (406) 449-8443
Email: rap@doneylaw.com
Membership: 132
Dues: $10

NEW LAWYERS' SECTION
Chair: Kent M. Sipe
PO Box 203005
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 841-2913
Email: ksipe@mt.gov
Membership: 364
Dues: $10

PARALEGAL SECTION
Chair: Tina Sunderland
P.O. Box 8718
Missoula, MT 59807
Phone: (406) 532-2600
Fax: (406) 532-2601
Email: tsunderland@phsmt.com
Membership: 151
Dues: $60

PUBLIC LAW SECTION
Chair: Michele Crepeau
Department of Revenue
PO Box 1712
Helena, MT 59604
Phone: (406) 444-3341
Fax: (406) 444-3696
Email: mcrepeau@mt.gov
Membership: 275
Dues: $0

SCHOOL LAW SECTION
Chair: Jeff Weldon
PO Box 2558
Billings, MT 59103-2558
Phone: (406) 248-7646
Fax: (406) 248-5485
Email: jweldon@180com.net
Membership: 64
Dues: $20

WOMEN'S LAW SECTION
Chair: Andrea J. Olsen
622 Rollins Street
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: (406) 543-2666
Fax: (406) 543-2666
Email: andreajolsen@hotmail.com
Membership: 58
Dues: $20