State Bar of New Mexico

P.O. Box 92860
Albuquerque, NM 87199-2860
Telephone: (505) 797-6000
Fax: (505) 828-3765
Email: sbnm@nmbar.org

Overview

Established: 1886
Total Number of Members: 8,618
Out of State Members: 1,179
Membership is: Compulsory
Membership in Other Bar Associations: American Bar Association

Bar Profile:
The mission of the State Bar is to be a united and inclusive organization serving the legal profession and the public.

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Henry A. Alaniz
P.O. Box 13053
Albuquerque, NM 87192-3053
Phone: (505) 232-9384
Fax: (505) 293-2687
Email: henryaalaniz@msn.com

President-Elect
Stephen S. Shanor
Hinkle, Hensley, Shanor & Martin, L.L.P.
P.O. Box 10
Roswell, NM 88202-0010
Phone: (575) 622-6510
Fax: (575) 623-9332
Email: ssshanor@hinklelawfirm.com

Vice President
Jessica A. Perez
P.O. Box 819
Bernalillo, NM 87004-0819
Phone: (505) 867-2351
Fax: (505) 867-9537
Email: cp7law@aol.com

Executive Director
Joe Conte
Phone: (505) 797-6000
Email: jconte@nmbar.org

Contacts

Continuing Legal Education Director
Robert Koonce
Phone: (505) 797-6060
Email: rkoonce@nmbar.org

General Counsel
Richard Spinello
Phone: (505) 797-6050
Email: rspinello@nmbar.org

Public and Legal Service Director
Kasey Daniel
Phone: (505) 797-6053
Email: :kdaniel@nmbar.org

Membership & Communications Director
Christine Morganti
Phone: (505) 797-6028
Email: cmorganti@nmbar.org

Operations Director
Veronica Cordova
Phone: (505) 797-6039
Email: vcordova@nmbar.org

Disciplinary Director
Virginia Ferrara
Phone: (505) 842-5781

Sections

APPELLATE PRACTICE SECTION
Chair: Scott M. Davidson, PhD., Esq., LLC
Scott M. Davidson Attorney at Law
1011 Lomas Blvd. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87102-1952
Phone: (505) 255-9084
Fax: (505) 243-6279
Email: scott@justappeals.net

BANKRUPTCY LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Michelle Kay Ostrye
Sutin Thayer & Browne PC
P.O. Box 1945
Albuquerque, NM 87103-1945
Phone: (505) 883-2500
Fax: (505) 855-9519
Email: mko@sutinfirm.com

BUSINESS LAW SECTION
Chair: Mr. James H. Bozarth
Hinkle Hensley Shanor & Martin LLP
P.O. Box 10
Roswell, NM 88202-0010
Phone: (575) 622-6510
Fax: (575) 623-9332
Email: jbozarth@hinklelawfirm.com

CHILDREN'S LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Mia Chavez
Office of the Public Defender
505 Marquette Ave. NW Ste. 120
Albuquerque, NM 87102-2159
Phone: (505) 841-5032
Email: miachav@yahoo.com

CRIMINAL LAW SECTION
Chair: Mr. Alexander K. Russell
Russell Law Firm PC
4801 Lang Ave. NE Ste. 210
Albuquerque, NM 87109-4475
Phone: (505) 435-9630
Fax: (505) 435-9639
Email: akr@russfirm.com

ELDER LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Laurie Ann Hedrich
Laurie A. Hedrich PA
3500 Comanche Rd. NE Bldg. D
Albuquerque, NM 87107-4546
Phone: (505) 880-1115
Fax: (505) 880-1116
Email: laurie@hedrichlaw.com

EMPLOYMENT AND LABOR LAW SECTION
Chair: Mr. Aaron Charles Viets
Rodey Dickason Sloan Akin & Robb PA
P.O. Box 1888
Albuquerque, NM 87103-1888
Phone: (505) 766-7588
Fax: (505) 768-7395
Email: aviets@rodey.com

FAMILY LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. N. Lynn Perls
Law Office of Lynn Perls
523 Lomas Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102-2437
Phone: (505) 891-8918
Fax: (505) 891-0059
Email: info@perlslaw.com

HEALTH LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Caroline Wade Blankenship
Blankenship Health Law LLC
4801 Lang Ave. NE Ste. 110
Albuquerque, NM 87109-4475
Phone: (505) 798-2524
Fax: (505) 796-9601
Email: blankenshiphealthlaw@q.com

IMMIGRATION LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Iris Calderon Godina
2929 Coors Blvd. NW Ste. 201E
Albuquerque, NM 87120-1279
Phone: (505) 264-6985

INDIAN LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Christina S. West
Sutin Thayer & Browne PC
P.O. Box 1945
Albuquerque, NM 87103-1945
Phone: (505) 883-2500
Fax: (505) 855-9545
Email: csw@sutinfirm.com

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW SECTION
Chair: Diane Elizabeth Albert
Law Office of Diane Albert
2108 Charlevoix St. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104-1545
Phone: (505) 842-1800
Fax: (505) 842-0033
Email: diane@dianealbertlaw.com

NATURAL RESOURCES, ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Jennifer J. Pruett
NM Environment Department
1301 Siler Rd. Ste. B
Santa Fe, NM 87507-3540
Phone: (505) 476-4392
Email: jennifer.pruett@state.nm.us

PROSECUTORS SECTION
Chair: Ms. Janice Burt Schryer
9th Judicial District Attorney's Office
417 Gidding St. Rm. 200
Clovis, NM 88101-7560
Phone: (575) 769-2246
Fax: (575) 769-3198
Email: jschryer@da.state.nm.us

PUBLIC LAW SECTION
Chair: Mr. James C. Martin
NM Public Regulation Commission
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269
Phone: (505) 827-6956
Fax: (505) 827-6915
Email: james.martin@state.nm.us

REAL PROPERTY, TRUST & ESTATE LAW SECTION
Chair: Ms. Linda Isaida Leyba
Leyba Law Firm PC
50 Vista Alta
Tijeras, NM 87059-7800
Phone: (505) 286-4781
Fax: (505) 286-4781
Email: linda@leybalawfirm.com

SOLO & SMALL FIRM SECTION
Chair: Mr. Donald Dean Becker, JD
Donald D. Becker JD PA
3733 Eubank Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111-3536
Phone: (505) 255-0306
Fax: (505) 255-0341
Email: ddbecker@swcp.com

TAXATION LAW SECTION
Chair: Mr. Edward B. Hymson
Research Fellow
150 Lombard St. Apt. 606
San Francisco, CA 94111-1133
Phone: (415) 391-2602
Email: ebhymson@aol.com

TRIAL PRACTICE SECTION
Chair: Mrs. Denise A. Snyder
Susan C. Little & Associates PA
4501 Indian School Rd. NE Ste. 101
Albuquerque, NM 87110-3929
Phone: (505) 254-7767
Fax: (505) 254-4722
Email: denise-s@littlepa.com

DIVISIONS:

PARALEGAL DIVISION
Chair: Deborah R. Tope, CLA, RP
Freedman Boyd Hollander Goldberg Nes & Duncan PA
P.O. Box 25326
Albuquerque, NM 87125-0326
Phone: (505) 842-9960
Fax: (505) 842-0761
Email: drt@fbdlaw.com

SENIOR LAWYERS DIVISION
Chair: Mr. R. Thomas Dawe
Gallagher Casados & Mann PC
317 Commercial St. NE Fl. 2
Albuquerque, NM 87102-3456
Phone: (505) 243-7848
Fax: (505) 764-0153
Email: tdawe@gcmlegal.com

YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION
Chair: Ms. Mary Martha Chicoski
Orraj Anderson & Obrey-Espinoza
500 Marquette Ave. NW Ste. 525
Albuquerque, NM 87102-5319
Phone: (505) 242-8654
Fax: (505) 246-2924
Email: mary.martha.chicoski@farmers.com

ALTERNATIVE METHODS OF DISPUTE RESOLUTION COMMITTEE
Co-Chair: Mr. David P. Levin
2nd Judicial District Court
P.O. Box 488
Albuquerque, NM 87103-0488
Phone: (505) 841-7412
Fax: (505) 841-5457
Email: davidlevin@mindspring.com

Co-Chair: The Hon. Linda M. Vanzi
NM Court of Appeals
P.O. Box 25306
Albuquerque, NM 87125-0306
Phone: (505) 767-6134
Fax: (505) 841-4614
Email: coalmv@nmcourts.gov

BOARD OF EDITORS
Chair: Mr. Mark A. Glenn
Moses Dunn Farmer & Tuthill PC
P.O. Box 27047
Albuquerque, NM 87125-7047
Phone: (505) 843-9440
Fax: (505) 247-3213
Email: mark@moseslaw.com

DISABILITY COMMITTEE
Co-Chair: Ms. Shoshanah D. Epstein
Office of the Public Defender
505 Marquette Ave. NW Ste. 120
Albuquerque, NM 87102-2159
Phone: (505) 841-6989
Fax: (505) 841-5006
Email: shoshanah.epstein@state.nm.us

Co-Chair: Ms. Flynn Evelyn Sylvest
Disability Rights New Mexico
1720 Louisiana Blvd. NE Ste. 204
Albuquerque, NM 87110-7070
Phone: (505) 256-3100
Fax: (505) 256-3184
Email: fsylvest@drnm.org

COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY IN THE LEGAL PROFESSION
Chair: Ms. Mary T. Torres
Beall & Biehler
6715 Academy Rd. NE Ste. A
Albuquerque, NM 87109-3365
Phone: (505) 828-3600
Fax: (505) 828-3900
Email: mtorres@beall-biehler.com

COMMITTEE ON WOMEN AND THE LEGAL PROFESSION
Co-Chair: Ms. Jocelyn Rose Castillo
Moses Dunn Farmer & Tuthill PC
P.O. Box 27047
Albuquerque, NM 87125-7047
Phone: (505) 843-9440
Fax: (505) 247-3213
Email: jocelyn@moseslaw.com

Co-Chair: Ms. Katherine A. Lynch
Moses Dunn Farmer & Tuthill PC
P.O. Box 27047
Albuquerque, NM 87125-7047
Phone: (505) 843-9440
Fax: (505) 247-3213
Email: katie@moseslaw.com

ETHICS ADVISORY COMMITTEE
Co-Chair: Mr. James T. Reist
Tax Estate & Business Law Ltd.
4811 Hardware Dr. NE Ste. A-4
Albuquerque, NM 87109-2021
Phone: (505) 830-2200
Fax: (505) 830-4400
Email: jreist@smidtlaw.com

Co-Chair: Ms. Julie J. Vargas
Hunt & Davis PC
P.O. Box 30088
Albuquerque, NM 87190-0088
Phone: (505) 881-3191
Fax: (505) 881-4255
Email: jvargas@hrd-law.com

HISTORICAL COMMITTEE
Co-Chair: Mr. Eric Sedillo Jeffries
Eric Sedillo Jeffires LLC
1201 Lomas Blvd. NW Ste. A
Albuquerque, NM 87102-1894
Phone: (505) 842-0400
Fax: (505) 247-1539
Email: esjeffries@jeffriesfirm.com

Co-Chair: The Hon. John W. Pope
13th Judicial District Court
P.O. Box 1089
Los Lunas, NM 87031-1089
Phone: (505) 865-9654
Fax: (505) 866-6813
Email: lludjwp@nmcourts.gov

JUDICIAL ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE
Chair: Mr. Dennis E. Jontz
Lewis and Roca LLP
P.O. Box 1027
Albuquerque, NM 87103-1027
Phone: (505) 764-5405
Fax: (505) 764-5469
Email: djontz@lrlaw.com

LAWYERS ASSISTANCE COMMITTEE
Co-Chair: The Hon. William F. Lang
Eaton Law Office PC
P.O. Box 25305
Albuquerque, NM 87125-0305
Phone: (505) 243-1486
Fax: (505) 842-0485
Email: wlang@eatonlaw-nm.com

Co-Chair: Mr. William K. Stratvert
Miller Stratvert PA
2318 El Nido Ct. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104-2548
Phone: (505) 242-6845
Email: wstratvert@comcast.net

LAWYERS PROFESSIONAL AND LIABILITY INSURANCE COMMITTEE
Chair: Mr. John A. Bannerman
Bannerman & Johnson PA
2201 San Pedro Dr. NE Bldg. 2 Ste. 207
Albuquerque, NM 87110-4133
Phone: (505) 837-1900
Fax: (505) 837-1800
Email: jab@nmcounsel.com

LEGAL SERVICES AND PROGRAMS COMMITTEE
Ms. Elizabeth V. McGrath
Pegasus Legal Services For Children
3201 4th St. NW
Albuquerque, NM 87107-1321
Phone: (505) 244-1101
Fax: (505) 244-0060
Email: evmcgrath@pegasuslaw.org

The Hon. Frank A. Sedillo
Metropolitan Court
P.O. Box 133
Albuquerque, NM 87103-0133
Phone: (505) 841-8287
Fax: (505) 222-4805

MEDICAL LEGAL GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE
Mr. Richard C. Civerolo
Civerolo Gralow Hill & Curtis PA
P.O. Box 887
Albuquerque, NM 87103-0887
Phone: (505) 842-8255
Fax: (505) 764-6099
Email: civerolor@civerolo.com

MEMBERSHIP SERVICES COMMITTEE
Ms. Mary Karen Kilgore
Cuddy & McCarthy LLP
P.O. Box 4160
Santa Fe, NM 87502-4160
Phone: (505) 988-4476
Fax: (505) 954-7373
Email: kkilgore@cuddymccarthy.com

NM MEDICAL REVIEW COMMITTEE
Mr. Richard C. Civerolo
Civerolo Gralow Hill & Curtis PA
P.O. Box 887
Albuquerque, NM 87103-0887
Phone: (505) 842-8255
Fax: (505) 764-6099
Email: civerolor@civerolo.com

TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE
Mr. Ian Bezpalko
The Bezpalko Law Firm
P.O. Box 7635
Albuquerque, NM 87194-7635
Phone: (505) 341-9353
Fax: (505) 341-9423
Email: ian@bezpalkolawfirm.com

Ms. JoHanna C. Cox
1st Judicial District Attorney's Office
P.O. Box 2041
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2041
Phone: (505) 827-5000
Fax: (505) 827-5076
Email: jcox@da.state.nm.us