The State Bar Association of North Dakota

504 N. Washington
P.O. Box 2136
Bismarck, ND 58501
Telephone: (701) 255-1404
Fax: (701) 224-1621


Established: 1899
Total Number of Members: 2065
Out of State Members: 550
Membership is: Compulsory
Membership in Other Bar Associations: American Bar Association, Western States Bar Conference, Jack Rabbit Bar

Bar Profile:
The State Bar Association of North Dakota is the oldest integrated bar association in the United States. The Association was established to ensure the integrity of legal services in the state and to provide public education about the civil and criminal justice systems.

The Association provides a wide range of services including CLE programs, ethics opinions, a lawyers assistance program, Casemaker, insurance programs, client protection funds, and consumer protection against the unauthorized practice of law. In addition Association committees actively address issues involving judicial qualifications, public information programs, and law-related education in the public school system. Association staff also provide services to entities responsible for judicial nominations, the regulation of CLE compliance, and attorney standards.

Association staff also administer programs sponsored by the North Dakota Bar Foundation. This philanthropic arm of the Association funds several local projects which focus on providing information to North Dakota citizens regarding the administration of justice. In addition, the Foundation is responsible for administering the Interest on Lawyer Trust Account Program (IOLTA). The IOLTA program provides grant monies to programs providing civil legal services to the poor and other programs which facilitate individuals efforts to obtain representation in the court system.

The Association's annual meeting is in June each year, rotating among cities in North Dakota. In addition to the ABA, the Association is a member of the Western States Bar Conference and the Jack Rabbit Bar.

Annual Meeting State Bar Association of North Dakota
Date: June
Location: Rotational in state

Current Officers & Leadership

Jane L. Dynes
P.O. Box 6017
Fargo, ND 58108-6017
Phone: (701) 232-8957

Sandra L. Tabor
Lignite Enerby Council
P.O. Box 2277
Bismarck, ND 58502-2277
Phone: (701) 258-7117

Michael Williams
P.O. Box 2103
Fargo, ND 58107
Phone: (701) 241-4141

Immediate Past President
David S. Maring
P.O. Box 795
Bismarck, ND 58502-0795
Phone: (701) 224-0430


Continuing Legal Education Director
Carrie Molander
Phone: (701) 255-1404

Executive Director
William A. Neumann
Phone: (701) 255-1404