Ohio State Bar Association

1700 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 16562
Columbus, OH 43216-6562
Telephone: (614) 487-2050
Fax: (614) 487-1008
Web: http://www.ohiobar.org

Overview

Established: 1880
Membership is: Voluntary
Number of active members: 27,000+

Bar Profile:
The core purpose of the Ohio State Bar Association is to advance the professional interests of its members and its goal is to become indispensable to Ohio lawyers. Approximately 75% of all active practicing lawyers in Ohio are members of the Association. Legal assistants and students are eligible for associate membership in the organization for a total OSBA membership of more than 29,000.

OSBA members can work together to monitor or introduce legislation or undertake projects through more than 42 committees and 10 sections that represent specific areas of the law, ranging from agricultural law to workers' compensation law to criminal justice. Besides committee and section work, members can take advantage of professional development resources including certification programs.

Many legal resources are available to OSBA members, including the OSBA Web site, www.ohiobar.org, the Casemaker web library, the weekly Ohio State Bar Association Report magazine, the bi-monthly Ohio Lawyer and other publications. In addition, the association offers members discounts on services such as overnight shipping, client education materials and more. The OSBA Insurance Agency is a full-service agency formed by the Association to help members with their personal insurance needs.

For a complete listing of OSBA products and services, to become a member of the Ohio State Bar Association or request more information on programs, contact OSBA Member Services, 800/282-6556 or log onto the OSBA website, www.ohiobar.org.

ANNUAL MEETINGS

OSBA Annual Convention
Dates: May 5-7, 2010
Location: Dayton
Description: Board and Committee meetings, Council of Delegates Meeting, Election of President-elect, CLE seminars.

OSBA Annual Convention
Dates: May 4-6, 2011
Location: Columbus
Description: Board and Committee meetings, Council of Delegates Meeting, Election of President-elect, CLE seminars.

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

Specialization Manager
Melissa Quick
P.O Box 16562, 1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, OH 43216-6562
Phone: (614) 487-2050
Fax: (614) 487-1008
Email: mquick@ohiobar.org
Specialty Areas: Workers Compensation Law, Family Relations Law, Federal Taxation Law, Labor & Employment Law, Estate Planning, Trust and Probate Law, Residential Real Property Law and Business, Commercial and Industrial Real Property Law, Appellate Law, Administrative Agency Law.

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Barbara J. Howard
Barbara J. Howard Co. LPA
120 East Fourth Street
Suite 960
Cincinnati, OH 45202-4096
Phone: 513-421-7300
Fax: 513-562-3532
Email: bhoward@barbarajhoward.com

President-Elect
Carmen V. Roberto
Bernlohr, Wertz LLP
23 South Main Street
Nantucket Building, 3rd Fl.
Akron, OH 44308
Phone: 330-434-1000
Fax: 330-434-1001
Email: cvr@b-wlaw.com

Immediate Past President
Gary J. Leppla
Leppla Associates
2100 S. Patterson Blvd.
Dayton, OH 45409-2024
Phone: 937-294-5959
Fax: 937-294-4411
Email: gjleppla@leplaw.com

Executive Director
Denny L. Ramey, CAE
1700 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 16562
Columbus, OH 43216-6562
Phone: (614) 487-2050
Fax: (614) 487-1008
Email: dramey@ohiobar.org

Contacts

Continuing Legal Education Director
Frances Wellington
Phone: (614)487-2050
Email: fwellington@ohiobar.org

Membership Director
Colleen Evans
Phone: (614) 487-2050
Email: cevans@ohiobar.org

Disciplinary Director
Eugene P. Whetzel
Phone: (614) 487-2050
Email: ewhetzel@ohiobar.org

Public Information & Services
Kenneth A. Brown
Phone: (614) 487-2050
Email: kbrown@ohiobar.org

Sections

ANTITRUST LAW
Chair: Michelle K. Fischer
Jones Day
901 Lakeside Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44114-1190
Phone: (216) 586-7096
Fax: (216) 579-0212
Email: mfischer@jonesday.com

CORPORATE COUNCIL
Chair: Russell R. Miller
Lyden, Liebenthal & Chappel Ltd
5565 Airport Highway, Ste. 101
Toledo, OH 43615-7391
Phone: (419) 861-1141
Fax: (419) 867-8909
Email: rrm@lydenlaw.com

ESTATE PLANNING, TRUST, AND PROBABTE LAW
Chair: Karen M. Moore
Bricker & Eckler LLP
100 S. Third Street
Columbus, OH 43215-4291
Phone: (614) 227-2363
Fax: (614) 227-2390
Email: KMoore@bricker.com

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY
Chair: Thomas E. Oâ??Connor, Jr.
McNees, Wallace & Nurick LLC
9275 Breezy Way
Belle Center, OH 43310
Phone: (614) 469-8000
Fax: (614) 469-4653
Email: toconnor@watchtv.net

LABOR & EMPLOYMENT LAW
Chair: Neil E. Klingshirn
Fortney & Klingshirn
4040 Embassy Parkway, Ste. 280
Akron, OH 44333-8354
Phone: (330) 665-5445
Fax: (330) 665-5446
Email: Neil@fklaborlaw.com

LITIGATION
Chair: Josephine V. Prokop
Permanent General Companies, Inc.
4470 Sir Robert Avenue
North Royalton, OH 44133-4141
Phone: (216) 986-3224
Fax: (216) 986-3054
Email: jprokop@pgac.com

REAL PROPERTY
Chair: Robert M. Curry
Thompson Hine LLP
10 W 2nd Street, Ste. 2000
Dayton, OH 45402-1758
Phone: (937) 443-6511
Fax: (937) 443-6830
Email: bob.curry@thompsonhine.com

SOLO, SMALL FIRMS, & GENERAL PRACTICE
Chair: Lloyd D. Cohen
2429 Beverly Place
Columbus, OH 43209-2809
Phone: (614) 444-4211
Fax: (614) 444-4174
Email: lcohen@lloydcohen.com