Oklahoma Bar Association

P.O. Box 53036
1901 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3036
Telephone: (405) 416-7000
Fax: (405) 416-7001
Web: http://www.okbar.org

Overview

Established: 1904
Total Number of Members: 16,417
Out of State Members: 3,724
Membership is: Compulsory
Membership in Other Bar Associations: American Bar Association, Southern Conference of Bar Presidents

Bar Profile:

History
The lawyers first organized a bar association encompassing what is now the State of Oklahoma when the Oklahoma and Indian Territory Bar Association was formed in 1904. The Oklahoma Bar Association as presently constituted, was created by Rules of the Oklahoma Supreme Court promulgated in 1939.

Purposes
The Oklahoma Supreme Court created the Oklahoma Bar Association in the public interest, for the advancement of the administration of justice according to law, and to aid the courts in carrying on the administration of justice; to foster and maintain on the part of those engaged in the practice of law high ideals of integrity, learning, competence and public service, and high standards of conduct; to provide a forum for the discussion of subjects pertaining to the practice of law, the science of jurisprudence, and law reform; to carry on a continuing program of legal research in technical fields of substantive law, practice and procedure, and to make reports and recommendations thereon; to encourage the formation and activities of local bar associations; to encourage practices that will advance and improve the honor and dignity of the legal profession; and to the end that the responsibility of the legal profession and the individual members thereof, may be more effectively and efficiently discharged in the public interest.

Current Activities and Concerns
The Oklahoma Bar Association is governed by a 17 member Board of Governors elected primarily by the House of Delegates. The Board of Governors meets monthly. There are 35 committees and 23 sections in the Association. The Oklahoma Bar Association is a member of the Southern Conference of Bar Presidents.

Areas of current emphasis include: imrovement on bar facilities; expansion of LRE program; expansion of Lawyers Helping Lawyers Assistance Program; assistance to solo and small firm practioners.

Annual Meetings
November 17-19, 2010
Tulsa, OK

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Allen M. Smallwood
1310 S. Denver Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74119-3098
Phone: (918) 582-1993
Fax: (918) 582-1991
Email: amsmallw@swbell.net

President-Elect
Deborah A. Reheard
P.O. Box 636
Eufaula, OK 74432
Phone: (918) 689-9281
Fax: (918) 689-9285
Email: dreheard@reheardlaw.com

Vice-President
Mack K. Martin
125 Park Avenue, 5th Floor
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone: (405) 236-8888
Fax: (405) 236-8844
Email: mack@martinlawoffice.net

Immediate Past President
Jon K. Parsley
P.O. Box 1709
Guymon, OK 73942
Phone: (580) 338-8764
Fax: (580) 338-8763
Email: jparsley@ptsi.net

Executive Director-Treasurer
John Morris Williams
1901 N. Lincoln
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
P.O. Box 53036
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3036
Phone: (405) 416-7015
Fax: (405) 416-7001
Email: johnw@okbar.org

Young Lawyers Division
Chair: Molly A. Aspan
Hall Estill Hardwick Gable
320 S. Boston Avenue, Suite 200
Tulsa, OK 74103
Phone: (918) 594-0595
Fax: (918) 594-0505
Email: maspan@hallestill.com

Contacts

Director of Educational Programs
Donita Bourns Douglas
Phone: (405) 416-7006
Email: donitad@okbar.org

Management Assistance Program
Jim Calloway
Phone: (405) 416-7051
Email: jimc@okbar.org

Director of Administration
Craig Combs
Phone: (405) 416-7040
Email: craigc@okbar.org

Disciplinary Director
Gina Hendryx, General Counsel
Phone: (405) 416-7083
Email: ginah@okbar.org

Communications & Services
Carol Manning
Phone: (405) 416-7016
Email: carolm@okbar.org

Information Technology Manager
John Burchel
Phone: (405) 416-7045
Email: johnb@okbar.org

Sections

ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION
Andrea Braeutigam, J.D., L.L.M., Co-Chairperson
Program Manager, Oklahoma State University
Institute for Dispute Resolution
1514 W Hall of Fame
Stillwater, OK 74078-2026
Phone: (405) 744-3011
Email: andrea.braeutigam@yahoo.com

Michael A. Simpson, Co-Chairperson
Atkinson, Haskins, Nellis, Brittingham, Gladd & Carwile
1500 ParkCentre
525 South Main
Tulsa, OK 74103-4524
Phone: (918) 582-8877 (x4224)
Fax: (918) 585-8096
Email: msimpson@ahn-law.com

APPELLATE PRACTICE
Allison Thompson, Chairperson
1000 W. Wilshire, Ste. 361
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Phone: (405) 840-1661
Email: athompson@lswsl.com

BANKRUPTCY AND REORGANIZATION
Jeffrey E. Tate, Chairperson
Mulinix Ogden Hall Andrews & Ludlam
3030 Oklahoma Tower
210 West Park Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone: (405) 232-3800
Email: jtate@lawokc.com

BUSINESS AND CORPORATE LAW
Mark E. Schell, Chairperson
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
Unit Corporation
P.O. Box 702500
Tulsa, OK 74170-2500
Phone: (918) 493-7700
Email: Mark.schell@unitcorp.com

CRIMINAL LAW SECTION
Brian T. Hermanson, Chairperson
P.O. Box 2110
Ponca City, OK 74602
Phone: (580) 762-0020
Email: bhermanson@oklawhoma.com

ENERGY AND NATURAL RESOURCES LAW SECTION
Chris A. Tytanic, Chairperson
University of Oklahoma College of Law
300 Timberdell Road
Norman, OK 73019
Phone: (405) 227-0547
Email: ctytanic@ou.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL LAW SECTION
Donald D. Maisch, Chairperson
P.O. Box 1677
Oklahoma City, OK 73101
Phone: (405) 702-7189
Email: Don.maisch@deq.state.ok.us

ESTATE PLANNING, PROBATE AND TRUST
Lesa Creveling, Chairperson
5716 S. Evanston Place
Tulsa, OK 74105
Phone: (918) 744-0553
Email: lcreveling@trustok.com

FAMILY LAW
Kimberly K. Hays, Chairperson
248 West 16th Street
Tulsa, OK 74119
Phone: (918) 592-2800
Fax: (918) 592-4143
Email: Kimberlyhayslaw@aol.com

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND COMMERCIAL LAW
J. Mark Lovelace, Chairperson
Phillips Murrah, P.C.
Corporate Tower, 13th Floor
101 N. Robinson Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone: (405) 235-4100
Email: jmlovelace@phillipsmurrah.com

GENERAL PRACTICE/SOLO AND SMALL FIRM SECTION
Timothy S. McKinney, Chairperson
923 N. Wentz
Guthrie, OK 73044
Phone: (405) 282-5353
Email: Tim@McKinneysLawOffice.com

GOVERNMENT AND ADMINISTRATIVE LAW PRACTICE
Jami Fenner, Chairperson
1701 S. Kelly Avenue
Edmond, OK 73013
Phone: (405) 844-9900
Email: jfenner@lldlaw.com

HEALTH LAW
Susan Moebius Henderson, Chairperson
Legal Counsel, INTEGRIS Health
3030 Northwest Expressway, Suite 1700
Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone: (405) 951-4779
Email: hendsm@integris-health.com

HOUSE COUNSEL SECTION
Brent Mills, Chairperson
P.O. Box 53036
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3036
Phone: (918) 520-6886
Email: bmills@crimsontech.edu

INDIAN LAW SECTION
Debra Gee, Chairperson
Deputy Attorney General
The Chickasaw Nation Division of Justice
P.O. Box 1548
Ada, OK 74821-1548
Phone: (580) 310-6410
Email: debra.gee@chickasaw.net

INSURANCE LAW
Jon D. Starr, Chairperson
P.O. Box 2619
1515 S. Boulder
Tulsa, OK 74101-2619
Phone: (918) 584-3391
Email: Jstarr@mcgivernlaw.com

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW
Michael J. LaBrie, Chairperson
McAfee & Taft
Two Leadership Square, 10th Floor
211 N. Robinson
Oklahoma City, OK 73102-7105
Phone: (405) 552-2305
Email: michael.labrie@mcafeetaft.com

LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT LAW
Todd A. Court, Chairperson
McAfee & Taft, A Professional Corporation
Two Leadership Square, 10th Floor
211 N. Robinson
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102-7103
Phone: (405) 552-2330
Email: todd.court@mcafeetaft.com

LAW OFFICE MANAGEMENT AND TECHNOLOGY
Judge Charles Hogshead, Chairperson
Tulsa County Courthouse
500 S. Denver Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74103
Phone: (918) 596-5388
Email: chogshead@gmail.com

LITIGATION SECTION
Renee DeMoss, Chairperson
100 W. 5th Street, Suite 1100
Tulsa, OK 74103
Phone: (918) 595-4800
Email: rdemoss@gablelaw.com

REAL PROPERTY LAW SECTION
Jack C. Mackey, Chairman
431 SW C Avenue, Suite 100
Lawton, OK 73501
Phone: (580) 695-2811
Email: mackeylaw@hotmail.com

TAXATION LAW SECTION
Sean R. McFarland, Chairperson
Oklahoma Tax Commission
120 N. Robinson, Suite 2000W
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone: (406) 319-8550
Email: smcfarland@tax.ok.gov

WORKERS' COMPENSATION
Emily J. Biscone, Chairperson
105 N. Hudson, No. 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Phone: (405) 232-6490
Email: ebiscone@oklalegal.com