Tennessee Bar Association

221 Fourth Avenue North, Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37219
Telephone: (615) 383-7421
Fax: (615) 297-8058
Web: http://www.tba.org

Overview

Established: 1881
Total Number of Members: 9,050
Out of State Members: 780
Membership is: Voluntary
Memberships in Other Bar Associations: National Conference of Bar Presidents, Southern Conference of Bar Presidents

Bar Profile:
The purpose of the Association is to foster legal education, maintain the honor and dignity and enhance the performance of the legal profession, cultivate professional ethics and fellowship among its members and promote responsible relationships between the legal profession and the public.

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM
State Contact
Board of Law Examiners
Phone: (615) 741-3234

Current Officers & Leadership

President
Bill Halton, Thomason, Hendrix, Harvey, Johnson & Mitchell, PLLC
40 S. Main St. Ste 2900
Memphis, TN 38103
Phone: (901) 577-6128
Fax: (901) 525-6722
Email: haltonw@thomasonlaw.com

Vice President
Marcy Eason
Miller & Martin, PLLC
832 Georgia Ave., Suite 1000
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: (423) 756-6600
Fax: (423) 785-8480

President-Elect
Larry Wilks, Law Offices of Larry D. Wilks
509 West Court Square
Springfield, TN 37172-2413
Phone: (615) 384-8444
Fax: (615) 382-7300
Email: wilksld@aol.com

Immediate Past President
Charles Swanson, Sheppeard Swanson Mynett & McMillan, PLC
PO Box 2149
Knoxville, TN 37901-2149
Phone: (865) 546-3653
Fax: (865) 637-7300
Email: cswanson@shepswan.com

Secretary
Cecilia Barnes, Amerispec, Inc.
889 Ridge Lake Blvd.
Memphis, TN 38120
Phone: (901) 820-8511
Fax: (901) 820-8520
Email: cbarnes@amerispec.net

Treasurer
Paul Ney, Trauger Ney & Tuke
222 4th Ave N
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: (615) 256-8585
Fax: (615) 256-7444
Email: pcney@tntlaw.net

Contacts

Continuing Legal Education Director
Roger Spivey
Phone: (615) 383-7421
Email: rspivey@tnbar.org

Membership Director
Megan Rizzo
Phone: (615) 383-7421
Email: mrizzo@tnbar.org

Asst. Exec. Director, Public Information & Services
Barry Kolar
Phone: (615) 383-7421
Email: bkolar@tnbar.org

Sections

BANKRUPTCY LAW
Chair: James Ernest Bailey III
Phone: (901) 259-7100
Email: jbailey@farris-law.com

BUSINESS LAW
Chair: Peter Hale Kesser
Phone: (901) 577-8155
Email: pkesser@bakerdonelson.com

CONSTRUCTION LAW
Chair: Todd Elliott Panther
Phone (615) 244-2770
Email: tpanther@tewlawfirm.com

CORPORATE COUNSEL
Chair: Sherie Lea Edwards
Phone: (615) 377-1999
Email: sheriee@svmic.com

CREDITORS PRACTICE
Chair: John Roaten Cheadle, Jr.
Phone: (615) 254-1009
Email: jcheadle@cheadlelaw.com

Chair: Worrick Gale Robinson IV
Phone: (615) 726-0900
Email: wrobinson@robinson-reagan.com

CRIMINAL JUSTICE
Chair: Jeff Shaw Henry
Phone: (615) 532-1529
Email: jeffrey.henry@state.tn.us

DISABILITY LAW
Chair: Cynthia E. Gardner
Phone: (615) 298-1080
Email: cindyg@tpainc.org

DISPUTE RESOLUTION
Chair: Earle Jay Schwarz
Phone: (901) 525-2566
Email: eschwarz@glankler.com

ELDER LAW
Chair: Kelly Guyton Frere
Phone: (865) 694-0373
Email: kfrere@gfelderlaw.com

ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS LAW
Chair: Derek Chase Crownover
Phone: (615) 313-9913
Email: dcrownover@hbss.net

ENVIRONMENTAL LAW
Chair: Karen Helen Stachowski
Phone: (615) 532-0114
Email: karen.stachowski@state.tn.us

ESTATE PLANNING & PROBATE
Chair: Angelia Morie Nystrom
Phone: (615) 726-5770
Email: amorie@bakerdonelson.com

FAMILY LAW
Chair: Amy Amundsen
Phone: (901) 526-6701
Email: aamundsen@ricelaw.com

Legislative & Parenting Committees Chair: Barry Lewis Gold
Phone: (423) 756-6400
Email: BGold@mwgfirm.com

Code Committee Chair: Mary Frances Lyle
Phone: (615) 244-5432
Email: mflyle@bwcllawfirm.com

Domestic Violence Committee Chair: Jean Norris Crowe
Phone: (615) 244-6610
Email: jcrowe@lglaid.org

FEDERAL PRACTICE
Chair: Timothy Lee Warnock
Phone: (615) 320-3700
Email: twarnock@bowenriley.com

GENERAL, SOLO & SMALL FIRM
Chair: Daniel Dominic Coughlin
Phone: (423) 246-8158
Email: dan@fullerandvaughn.com

HEALTH CARE LAW
Chair: John Robert Voigt
Phone: (615) 742-4200
Email: jvoigt@sherrardroe.com

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY
Chair: Richard Showse Myers Jr.
Phone: (615) 782-2333
Email: richard.myers@stites.com

JUVENILE & CHILDREN'S LAW SECTION
Chair: Carl Edward Seely
Phone: (731) 660-5252
Email: cseely@usit.net

LABOR & EMPLOYMENT LAW
Chair: M. Kim Vance
Phone: (615) 366-4600
Email: kvance@tractorsupply.com

LAW OFFICE TECHNOLOGY & MANAGEMENT
Chair: Matthew Marshall Maddox
Phone: (731) 986-4896
Email: maddoxlawoffice@bellsouth.net

LITIGATION
Chair: Gary Clark Shockley
Phone: (615) 726-5600
Email: gshockley@bakerdonelson.com

REAL ESTATE LAW
Chair: Nita Courtney Hollins
Phone: (615) 255-5345
Email: hollins@hollinslaw.com

SENIOR LAWYERS DIVISION
Chair: Harris Abram Gilbert
Phone: (615) 244-0020
Email: ngilbert@wyattfirm.com

TAX LAW
Chair: George Joseph Nassar, Jr.
Phone: (901) 525-1322
Email: gnassar@glankler.com

TORT & INSURANCE LAW
Chair: Charles Kevin Grant
Phone: (615) 726-5767
Email: cgrant@bakerdonelson.com

YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION
Chair: Danny Van Horn
Phone: (901) 524-4962
Email: dvanhorn@armstrongallen.com