- North Carolina Traffic Law | New Laws for Teenage Drivers
- June 26, 2012
- Law Firm: Matheson Law Office PLLC - Raleigh Office
- If you are a North Carolina Teen Driver you understand the several steps that must be completed in order to eventually get your full license. As a Raleigh Traffic Attorney and Durham Traffic Attorney, I have seen how complicated North Carolina Traffic Laws are and how hard they can be to navigate with. In all honesty, it only gets more complicated if you are faced with having to go to traffic court in North Carolina as each county handles these types of matters differently. Well, North Carolina has enacted several new laws which affect teen drivers in this State. To add to the already burdensome processes that Teens must go through, there are now new steps, in additional to new punishments, which Teens in North Carolina should be made aware of. This article will review these new laws and what it will mean for those teenagers who are attempting to get their license.
First to be considered, and certainly the most serious, are new punishments which the North Carolina General Assembly created for Teen Drivers caught speeding at excessive rates. As of January 1, 2012, North Carolina Teen Drivers ages 16 and 17 with Limited Learners Permit or Provisional Licenses who are caught speeding in North Carolina more than 15 miles over the posted limit, or at a rate above 80 miles per hour, can be arrested and have their license revoked. The Officer must fill out a revocation report and bring the driver before a judicial official to determine if there is probable cause to revoke the teen's North Carolina driver's license. If the judicial officer finds probable cause, the license will be revoked for 30 days. During that time, the teen driver will not be able to obtain a limited driving privilege and will be prohibited from driving until the 30 days are up. After 30 days, the driver's license will be automatically reinstated without any further follow up on the part of the driver and at no additional cost.
The other new law in affect as of January 1, 2012 is the requirement for teens with limited learner's permits to document 60 hours of driving time on forms provided by the DMV. Once the driver has graduated to a provisional license, the teen must document an additional 12 hours of driving, with six of those hours occurring at night. In both cases, the teens will only be able to clock 10 hours of driving per week.
With over 50 teens having been killed automotive crashes in North Carolina in 2011, these new rules are the correct steps by the Legislation to curtail unsafe teen drivers.
Whether a North Carolina Teen Driver or adult driver, if you are facing a Wake County Traffic Ticket, Durham County Traffic Ticket or Harnett County Traffic Ticket, speak with a local attorney for advice on how to proceed.
Disclaimer - Information and advice offered in this article is for informational and educational purposes only and is specific to North Carolina law. The viewing, receipt and/or exchange of information from this article does not constitute an Attorney-Client Relationship. For assistance regarding your particular legal question speak with an Attorney practicing in the field from which your questions derives.