- North Carolina Traffic Law | The Effects of a Driving While License Revoked North Carolina Charge
- October 24, 2012
- Law Firm: Matheson Law Office PLLC - Raleigh Office
- Most North Carolina Traffic Charges can easily be handled with a dismissal or plea where court costs would be assessed. If convicted with a North Carolina Traffic Ticket, your insurance could go up, depending upon the charge you plead to and the final disposition of your case. But it is possible that a defendant could have their license suspended for a period of time. While these occasions are infrequent, it can still take minor traffic incident and make it much more serious and therefore important to understand. This article will go over some of the instances in which a driver can have their license revoked. The easiest place to start is with Driver’s License Points.
Receiving 12 or more points on your N.C. license is cause for having your license revoked. There are some traffic convictions that will automatically result in license suspension regardless of points. These convictions include speeding in excess of 75 MPH in a zone where the speed limit is less then 70 MPH, speeding in excess of 80 MPH in a 70 MPH zone, speeding over 55 MPH and greater than 15 MPH over the speed limit, within 12 months a person has 2 or more convictions of speeding in excess of 55 and not more then 80 MPH, or one or more convictions of reckless driving and one or more charges of speeding in excess of 55 MPH and not more then 80 MPH.
Just as common as points and speeding, a person can have their license suspended when they miss a criminal court date. That doesn’t mean it has to be for a major offense, it could be for a seatbelt or taillight ticket. If the defendant misses the court date, a North Carolina Failure to Appearwill be issue. Twenty days after the missed court date the DMV will be notified of the Failure to Appear. The defendant will then receive notice from the DMV that their license will be suspended in 60-days if the prior charge is not resolved. Some people never receive this notice or choose to simply ignore and drive anyway. This can lead to a Driving While License Revoked North Carolina charge.
There are certain charges that are more serious than a speeding ticket that result in a North Carolina License Suspension. The two major ones are DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) and DWLR (Driving While License Revoked). If convicted of a North Carolina DWI Charge, the Defendant’s license will be suspended for one-year. If a Defendant is convicted of Driving While License Revoked North Carolina, their license will also be suspended for one-year. In either of these instances, having subsequent charges could further the suspension of the Driver’s license up to the point of permanent suspension.
Although this article only touched on the most common ways to have a Driver’s license suspended, there are many other matters that could produce the same outcome. If you are facing a North Carolina Traffic Ticket or Criminal matter, speak with a local Traffic Defense Attorney or Criminal Defense Attorney about your individual case.
Disclaimer - Information and advice offered in this article is for informational and educational purposes only and is specific to North Carolina law. The viewing, receipt and/or exchange of information from this article does not constitute an Attorney-Client Relationship. For assistance regarding your particular legal question speak with an Attorney practicing in the field from which your questions derives.