• Government to Reintroduce Long-Term Work Permit Quota for EU-17 Nationals, Extend Quota for EU-8 Nationals
  • April 29, 2013
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • The Swiss Federal Council has decided to reintroduce work permit quotas for EU nationals through 2014, due to large increases in immigration rates in recent years. There will be 53,700 long-term work permits - known as B-Permits - available to EU-17 nationals between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014, under the quota system. The current B-Permit quota of 2,180 for EU-8 nationals will be extended from May 1, 2013 to April 30, 2014. EU-17 and EU-8 nationals will not be subject to a quota on L-Permits, which are used for stays of up to one year.

    The quota numbers will be released quarterly, with approximately 13,400 available to EU-17 nationals and approximately 500 B-Permits available to EU-8 nationals each quarter. The quotas will apply nationwide, unlike Switzerland’s standard quotas, which are partly allocated to individual Swiss cantons. Work permit quotas apply to first-time applicants and those converting from an L-Permit to a B-Permit. Work permit extensions are not subject to the quotas.

    The EU-17 countries are Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. The EU-8 countries consist of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.