• Cabinet Update
  • November 28, 2013
  • Law Firm: McDonald Hopkins LLC - Cleveland Office
  • On Thursday, the Senate Banking Committee approved Janet Yellen's nomination to become the first woman to lead the Federal Reserve, sending it to the full Senate for a final vote. The vote was 14 in favor and 8 against —  with 3 Republicans joining all but 1 Democrat in voting to move the nomination forward.

    Also this week, President Obama announced the following nominations:

    Debo P. Adegbile - Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights, Department of Justice

    Marc Kastner - Director of the Office of Science, Department of Energy

    Mark E. Lopes - Member, Board of Directors of the Inter-American Foundation

    Vivek Hallegere Murthy - Surgeon General, Department of Health and Human Services

    Franklin Orr - Under Secretary for Science, Department of Energy