• State Department Temporarily Closes 19 Diplomatic Posts Due to Potential Terrorist Activity
  • August 7, 2013
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • The State Department has temporarily closed 19 U.S. consulates and embassies in Asia, the Middle East and North Africa because of the threat of imminent terrorist activity in the region. The posts are to remain closed until Saturday, August 10, though the closures could be extended beyond this date and to other posts.

    The following U.S. embassies and consulates are affected:

    Manama, Bahrain
    Bujumbura, Burundi
    Cairo, Egypt
    Amman, Jordan
    Kuwait City, Kuwait
    Antananarivo, Madagascar
    Port Louis, Mauritius
    Tripoli, Libya
    Muscat, Oman
    Doha, Qatar
    Kigali, Rwanda
    Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
    Khartoum, Sudan
    Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Sana’a, Yemen

    The State Department is also alerting U.S. citizens to take precautions when abroad. Travelers are urged to register their travel plans with the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program, which can facilitate communication in the event of an emergency.