• Entry and Exit Requirements Tightened for Visitors and Residence Permit Holders
  • August 22, 2013
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • Senegal has suspended issuance of its multiple-entry visa, and nationals of most countries will now require a biometric visa to enter Senegal for business or tourism purposes for up to 90 days. Residence permit holders who are not Schengen nationals will have to obtain a visa for travel outside of Senegal.

    To obtain a biometric visa, visa nationals must register online at www.snedai.sn/en. They will have two options for biometrics. They can have their biometrics taken at a Senegalese consular post, in which case the visa will be issued prior to entry. Visa nationals can also have their biometrics taken at the port of entry, where a visa-on-arrival will be issued.

    Only nationals of Mauritania, Morocco and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) can now enter Senegal without a biometric visa for tourism or business. ECOWAS comprises the countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

    In a related development, Schengen nationals who hold a Senegalese residence permit can travel without a visa, provided they present their original permit upon entering Senegal. Non-Schengen nationals who hold a Senegalese resident permit can apply for a visa in Senegal (aller-retour visa) if they need to exit and re-enter Senegal.