• Home Office Launches Registered Traveler Pilot Program
  • October 7, 2013
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • The UK Home Office has announced it is piloting a registered traveler program that provides expedited entry for eligible nationals of Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand and the United States who are entering in visitor categories. Registered travelers are permitted to use the border inspection lines reserved for UK and EEA nationals at Gatwick and Heathrow airports. The UK Border Force may also create dedicated inspection lines for registered travelers.

    To qualify for the program, a traveler must be a citizen of Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand or the United States; have visited the UK at least four times in the year preceding the application; be over the age of 18; and have been registered in the Iris Recognition Immigration System before it was closed on September 15, 2013. The expedited entry process is only available for travelers seeking entry in visitor categories. Participants must carry and be prepared to present proof of their registration when traveling.

    Eligible travelers can register for free through March 31, 2014, when the pilot will end. If the program is extended, participants will be required to possess a compatible biometric passport, re-register and pay an annual membership fee.