• Tourist Visa on Arrival Extended to 32 Additional Countries
  • February 19, 2015
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • India has expanded its Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) program to applicants from 32 additional countries. Visitors eligible for the TVoA include those traveling to sightsee, visit friends or relatives or to make short medical visits. Business visitors are also eligible for the program.

    Nationals of the following 32 countries are now eligible for the program: Australia, Brazil, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Germany, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, U.S. and Vanuatu.

    Nationals of the following eleven countries will continue to be eligible for the program: Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.

    The TVoA is valid for 30 days from the date of arrival, is non-extendable and not valid for visiting Protected/Restricted and Cantonment Areas. It is valid for two visits per calendar year.

    How to Apply for a Tourist Visa on Arrival

    Applicants must pay the applicable fee and apply for an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) at least four days prior to arrival. Both processes can be completed online. An ETA is emailed to the applicant and travelers must print it out and carry it while traveling to India. The applicant must travel to India within 30 days of applying.

    Travelers can enter through the following designated airports: Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Goa,Hyderabad, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Trivandrum. Upon arrival, travelers must present their ETA at the airport immigration counter, complete biometric formalities and obtain a TVoA in their passport.


    Travelers must have at least six months’ validity on their passports and must have a ticket for return or onward travel. TVoAs are not available to Diplomatic/Official passport holders and travelers with Pakistani passports or of Pakistani origin.

    What This Means for Foreign Nationals

    Foreign nationals from the eligible countries will be able to travel to India faster and easier using a TVoA at the eligible Indian airports. Those wishing to apply for the TVoA should apply online at least four days prior to arrival.