• Tourist Visa on Arrival to be Extended to 150 Countries in Phases
  • April 8, 2015
  • Law Firm: Fragomen Del Rey Bernsen Loewy LLP - New York Office
  • Following the earlier expansion of the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA), the program will be further extended to a total of 150 countries in phases during current fiscal year, according to an announcement by the Finance Minister, Mr. Arun Jaitley, during the Union Budget.

    The new list of eligible countries has not yet been confirmed and is expected to be released periodically over the year.

    Changes in documentation and processing timeframes may occur as a result of the expansion.

    What This Means for Foreign Nationals

    Foreign nationals from the eligible countries should be able to travel to India faster and easier using a TVoA at eligible Indian airports. Eligible applicants should apply online for an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) at least four days prior to arrival.