• Senate Passes Comprehensive Immigration Reform
  • July 3, 2013
  • Law Firm: McDonald Hopkins LLC - Cleveland Office
  • On Thursday, the United States Senate passed the "Gang of Eight" compromise comprehensive immigration reform bill by a vote of 68 to 32. Fourteen Republicans joined 54 Democrats in passing the legislation.

    The 14 Republicans who voted for immigration reform were: Alexander (TN), Ayotte (NH), Chiesa (NJ), Collins (ME), Corker (TN), Flake (AZ), Graham (SC), Hatch (UT), Heller (NV), Hoeven (ND), Kirk (IL), McCain (AZ), Murkowski (AK), and Rubio (FL).

    Supporters of the bill expressed pleasure at the wide-bipartisan margin, even though some supporters - most notably Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY) - had hoped to get 70 or more votes in order to put pressure on the House to act.