- Amendments to Oregon’s Domestic Violence Leave Law Extend Coverage to Part-Timers, New Employees
- July 30, 2013
- Law Firm: Jackson Lewis P.C. - White Plains Office
Effective January 1, 2014, Oregon’s domestic violence leave law (Or. Rev. Stat. § 659A.270) will apply to all employees who are victims of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking, regardless of the number of hours worked per week or length of time worked for the employer. Previously, the law did not cover employees who worked 25 hours or fewer or had not been employed at least 180 days prior to seeking to take leave.
In addition, Oregon employers will have to post, in a conspicuous place, a summary of employees’ rights to take leave to address domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking and maintain summaries of all regulations enforcing the domestic violence leave law. Summaries are available from the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (http://www.oregon.gov/boli/TA/Pages/Req-Post.aspx).
The domestic violence leave law applies to employers with at least six employees. Under the law, victims of domestic and sexual violence are protected from workplace discrimination and may take reasonable time off from work to obtain court or law enforcement protection or to take other safety measures.
Oregon employers should ensure their policies and procedures are consistent with the new law and the appropriate staff is trained in handling these matters.