- Governor Brown Signs California’s $15 Minimum Wage Bill
- April 18, 2016 | Author: Christopher W. Olmsted
- Law Firm: Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. - San Diego Office
- On April 4, 2016, Governor Brown—as expected—signed a bill to raise the state minimum wage rate to $15.00 per hour by 2022. The new law will increase the minimum wage for large and small businesses according to two schedules. It will also have the effect of increasing the minimum exempt salary requirement for exempt California employees.
According to Governor Brown’s statement, the new legislation “is about economic justice, it’s about people.” “Economically, minimum wages may not make sense. But morally and socially and politically, they make every sense because it binds the community together and makes sure that parents can take care of their kids in a much more satisfactory way,” Brown said in an interview. Business leaders have already expressed their dissatisfaction with the new law, expressing concern with how quickly rate increases over the next six years.
The state published a fact sheet on the new legislation on its website. Our April 1 article, “California $15 Minimum Wage Bill Awaits Governor’s Signature,” covers the provisions of the new law in detail.