• California’s Stepped Increase in Minimum Wage Affects More Than Just Nonexempt Employees
  • October 17, 2013 | Authors: Marie Burke Kenny; Annie Macaleer
  • Law Firm: Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP - San Diego Office
  • On September 25, 2013, Governor Jerry Brown signed Assembly Bill 10 into law. This bill amends California Labor Code section 1182.12 to increase the minimum wage (currently $8.00 per hour) in two increments over the next several years. First, effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage will increase to $9.00 per hour. Second, effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will again increase to $10.00 per hour. The cumulative raise by 2016 will be 25%. This marks the first increase in California‚Äôs minimum wage in six years. Employers should be aware of the broad implications of such a change.