• New Visa Exemptions and Online Application Eligibility to be Expanded
  • July 4, 2017
  • Starting June 1, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs will extend the visa exemption for nationals of Brunei and Thailand, grant visa-exempt status for Philippine nationals, allow nationals of Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam to obtain two-year multiple-entry visas on the online visa portal and expand the electronic visa (eVisa) eligible countries list.

    Visa Exemption Program

    Nationals of Brunei and Thailand, who are currently visa exempt for entry into Taiwan, will have their visa-exempt status extended through July 31, 2018.

    Nationals of the Philippines will be granted visa-exempt status on a trial basis for one year, initially through May 31, 2018. The authorized duration of stay is expected to be announced soon.

    Multiple-Entry Visas

    Nationals of Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam, currently eligible to obtain single-entry visas through the National Immigration Agency online visa application portal, will be able to apply for two-year multiple-entry visas through the same portal starting June 1.

    To qualify, applicants from these countries must meet the following requirements:

    • They must have been issued a Taiwanese visa (excluding labor visa) in the past 10 years;
    • They must have no record of violating local laws;
    • They must hold a valid entry visa or permanent resident card issued by Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Schengen Area countries, the United Kingdom or the United States; and
    • They must have no record of being employed in Taiwan as blue collar workers.

    Foreign nationals seeking a multiple-entry visa must apply online for a Travel Authorization Certificate online, which is a conditional visa exemption program that typically permits a stay of up to 30 days.

    Additional e-Visa Countries

    Nationals of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be added to the list of countries eligible to apply for an eVisa online. Eligible nationals will need to obtain pre-approval from the Taiwan External Trade Development Council starting June 1, 2017. The eVisa currently offers a non-extendable 30-day single-entry stay for tourists and business visitors from the following 34 countries: Bahrain, Belize, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Kiribati, Kuwait, Macedonia, Marshall Islands, Montenegro, Nauru, Nicaragua, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Turkey, Tuvalu, and United Arab Emirates.

    What This Means for Foreign Nationals

    Eligible foreign nationals should benefit from a more streamlined entry process and should contact their immigration professional for specific requirements.