• New Visa Scheme and Relaxed Entry Rules Forthcoming
  • December 5, 2017

  • Executive Summary

    Effective January 1, 2018, the Rwandan immigration authorities will implement a new visa scheme which will expand the population eligible for visa-free travel, a visa-on-arrival, and entry under a residence identity card.

    The situation

    Effective January 1, 2018, a new visa scheme will implement programs that will allow easier entry for foreign nationals into Rwanda.

    A closer look

    The following are the expected changes:

    Visa waiver reciprocity. Rwanda will extend visa-free travel for up to 90 days to citizens of the following countries on a reciprocal basis: Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Senegal, Seychelles, and Sao Tome and Principe. Currently, visa-free travel is only available to citizens of the Democratic Republic of Congo, East African Community Partner States, Mauritius, the Philippines and Singapore.

    Visa-on-arrival for COMESA member states. Citizens of Common Market for Eastern and Southern African (COMESA) countries will be eligible for a 90-day visa-on-arrival with the payment of a prescribed fee.

    Residence identity cards for entry. Foreign nationals will be able to enter Rwanda using a valid Rwandan residence identity card, whereas previously foreign nationals were required to present a valid passport to enter.

    Regular entry requirements for foreign nationals, including holding a valid passport, a return ticket, and proof of sufficient funds, will still apply for those entering under any of the above rules.