• Many Jurisdictions Increase Their Minimum Wage Rates in 2018 and Beyond
  • December 7, 2017 | Author: Stephen B. Maule
  • Law Firm: McMahon Berger A Professional Corporation - St. Louis Office
  • While the federal minimum wage is set to remain at $7.25 per hour, several states will increase their minimum wage at some point during 2018. In addition, federal contractors will be required to pay their employees $10.35 per hour.


    Further, many municipalities require a higher minimum wage so it is important to check with your local government to determine if your company must comply with a higher wage requirement. A summary of each state’s minimum wage and any changes follows:

    State Current Rate New Rate Effective Date Future Increases

    Alabama $7.25 same

    Alaska $9.80 $9.84 Jan. 1, 2018

    Arizona $10.00 $10.50 Jan. 1, 2018 $11.00 in 2019

    Arkansas $8.50 same

    California $10.50 $11.00[1]

    Jan. 1, 2018 $12.00 in 2019

    Colorado $9.30 $10.20 Jan. 1, 2018 $11.10 in 2019

    Connecticut $10.10 same

    Delaware $8.25 same

    Florida $8.10 $8.25 Jan. 1, 2018

    Georgia $7.25 same

    Hawaii $9.25 $10.10 Jan. 1, 2018

    Idaho $7.25 same

    Illinois $8.25 same

    Indiana $7.25 same

    Iowa $7.25 same

    Kansas $7.25 same

    Kentucky $7.25 same

    Louisiana $7.25 same

    Maine $9.00 $10.00 Jan. 1, 2018 $11.00 in 2019

    Maryland $9.25 $10.10 July 1, 2018

    Massachusetts $11.00 same

    Michigan $8.90 $9.25 Jan. 1, 2018

    Minnesota $9.50 $9.65[2] Jan. 1, 2018

    Mississippi $7.25 same

    Missouri $7.70 $7.85 Jan. 1, 2018

    Montana $8.15 $8.30 Jan. 1, 2018

    Nebraska $9.00 same

    Nevada $8.25 same

    New Hampshire$7.25 same

    New Jersey $8.44 $8.60 Jan. 1, 2018

    New Mexico $7.50 same

    New York $9.70 $10.40[3]

    Dec. 31, 2017 $11.10 in 2019

    North Carolina $7.25 same

    North Dakota $7.25 same

    Ohio $8.15 $8.30 Jan. 1, 2018

    Oklahoma $7.25 same

    Oregon $10.25 $10.75[4] July 1, 2018 $11.25 in 2019

    Pennsylvania $7.25 same

    Rhode Island $9.60 $10.10 Jan. 1, 2018 $10.50 in 2019

    South Carolina $7.25 same

    South Dakota $8.65 $8.85 Jan. 1, 2018

    Tennessee $7.25 same

    Texas $7.25 same

    Utah $7.25 same

    Vermont $10.00 $10.50 Jan. 1, 2018

    Virginia $7.25 same

    Washington $11.00 $11.50 Jan. 1, 2018 $12.00 in 2019

    West Virginia $8.75 same

    Wisconsin $7.25 same

    Wyoming $7.25 same

    The St. Louis employment attorneys at McMahon Berger have been representing employers across the country in labor and employment matters for over sixty years, and are available to discuss these issues and others. As always, the foregoing is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice regarding any particular situation as every situation must be evaluated on its own facts. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertisements.

    [1] For employers with 26 or more employees. Smaller employers will have to pay at least $10.50 per hour.

    [2] For employers with annual gross revenues of at least $500,000. Smaller employers will pay at least $7.87 per hour.

    [3] The actual wage paid varies based on the geographical location of the employee within the state.

    [4] Employers in metropolitan Portland must pay $11.25 per hour and those in “nonurban” counties must pay $10.00.