• South Carolina: Department of Revenue Postpones Filing Deadlines in Wake of October Storms
  • December 22, 2015 | Authors: David H. Godenswager; David M. Kall
  • Law Firm: McDonald Hopkins LLC - Cleveland Office
  • The South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR) has issued Information Letter 15-14 detailing its assistance to taxpayers impacted by the severe storms and flooding that started on Oct. 1, 2015. At the same time, the IRS announced that it will offer tax relief to flood victims located within the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) designated disaster areas, and to those who live outside the disaster areas, but whose records are located in the affected area. Both the IRS and South Carolina offer relief in the form of deadline extensions.

    Flood victims will now have until Feb. 16, 2016, to file their returns and pay whatever taxes are due. This includes individuals and businesses that previously received a tax-filing extension to October 15, as well as workers assisting the relief activities and are affiliated with a recognized government or philanthropic organization.

    In addition to the October 15 extension, there are others. The Jan. 15, 2016, deadline for making quarterly estimated tax payments, and the Nov. 2, 2015, and Feb. 1, 2016, deadlines for quarterly payroll and excise tax returns, are all extended to Feb. 16, 2016.

    The information letter directs affected taxpayers to write “SC Flood” at the top of any paper return relying on this relief, or to complete the “disaster area” check box if one is provided on the return. Taxpayers filing their returns electronically through MyDORWAY do not require any additional action to qualify for this relief.

    The tax relief applies to those individuals and businesses in the following counties, though other locations may be added later, based on FEMA’s damage assessments:
    • Bamberg
    • Berkeley
    • Calhoun
    • Charleston
    • Clarendon
    • Colleton
    • Dorchester
    • Florence
    • Georgetown
    • Greenwood
    • Horry
    • Kershaw
    • Lee
    • Lexington
    • Newberry
    • Orangeburg
    • Richland
    • Sumter
    • Williamsburg