• Expansion of the Visitor "Visa Waiver Program"
  • November 18, 2008 | Authors: Gregory P. Adams; Douglas Halpert
  • Law Firm: Dinsmore & Shohl LLP - Cincinnati Office
  • The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows citizens of selected countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business without a visa. Currently, 27 countries are on the VWP list. The travel restrictions for non-visaed travelers include U.S.-stays not exceeding 90 days, holding a return ticket if traveling by sea or air, and traveling only for business, pleasure, or transit.

    Earlier this month, President Bush hosted representatives from 13 countries who are seeking to be added to the VWP. Seven of those countries will become part of the program "in about a month," and the remaining six are on the "visa waiver road map."

    The new additions will be the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea. The nations on the "road map" are Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Poland, and Romania. Being on the "road map" signifies that the countries are taking steps to meet the U.S. government's requirements for qualification for the VWP.